Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


MalusCaliburMalusCalibur

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 19, 2010

Good, but...

The animation is excellent, but the voice of the short bearded fellow is unbelievably annoying - every piece of his dialogue is like a cheese grater to the brain.


People find this review helpful!
Toonwerks responds:

it's worse if you wear headphones!


pboxinatorpboxinator

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2010

in your own words "sub-standard"

no, just kidding, its more like super-standard =P



GoeliathGoeliath

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2010

love it

animation and overall comedy were great!



katikarkatikar

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2010

ahh, brings me back

fellin' allot of influence from Joseph, who was really one of the first flash artists whos name i actually knew, his work is what really drew me into the flash-crowd (not that i produce anything, im a terrible artist on and off the computer) its good to see some work like this


Toonwerks responds:

Joseph and I (Casey McDonald's) art is fairly similar. Putting his character's over my backgrounds worked perfectly, and that's sort of how we planned it. We're good at mixing up how we draw things to


Phoenix352Phoenix352

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2010

i loved it :D

it was excellent i liked it . job well done sir.
looks like a good series if it was perhaps planned for multiple parts you could try and get on a site like the escapists this style of animation would be very welcomed there.