Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


TomasDTomasD

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

awsome

I really liked this and i gave it a 9 not a 10 because the person doing Slinks voice either need to buy a new microphone or he needs to go.



PapaLongLegsPapaLongLegs

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

Its not 2003 anymore

Dated visuals, awful sound and a boring generic script. Stop using tweens and get onto some frame by frame, this will greatly improve your directing capabilities. Zoom and pan just don't cut it to keep interest for longer than 1 minute.


Toonwerks responds:

Response by th1rt3en: There are actually a few sequences that use symbols in a frame-by-frame manner with tweening used as actually inbetweening (the walk and run cycles for instance). Other motions are disconnected and required tweens to be broken up until they were mostly keyframes at times (such as arms).

As far as zooming and panning are concerned, I do that a lot. I mimic an actual, physical camera all the time in my animations. Rack focuses, parallax effects, pitch, yaw, roll, etc. I much prefer a dynamic canvas. (And I loath AS-cams.)

We're certainly going to put more of these things into the next parts, now that we've had the practice working with each others' skills. But ultimately, our main focus wasn't trying to amaze you with top-notch, frame-by-frame, animation. We're trying to tell a story, visually, and that requires more than just making fluid movement in drawings.


CombineAdvisorCombineAdvisor

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

ohhh jesuuuuuuss

i mean nice work but oh god these voices start to annoy me (i mean the little guy and the trees)


People find this review helpful!

DeaniacDeaniac

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

I can definitely see this becoming a huge series.

This was quite entertaining. Very nice production values, especially the animation and art style. LegendaryFrog, your art skills have come a long way since the old Lillipad days and what not. Some of the voice acting could use some work, but otherwise, I look foward to more!

Nice to see something original on Newgrounds that's NOT a video game parody or a stick figure brawl.



DrumstylezDrumstylez

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

either i travelled in the future, or either

ive seen that shit a few years ago


Toonwerks responds:

it's a remake so we could finish the series from an original story line, rather than continuing one that was fundementally flawed