Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


asdiegoasdiego

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

serious pontential

I liked the voices, was the thing that made me laugh the more... Ill suggest more background to the charachter, much of the story I just asume it...


Toonwerks responds:

If you're referring to character backstory, we plan on giving some fun background into those with a few short movies. Like... how the heck did Xiphon end up with a bunch of cultists?


ShadowTh40ShadowTh40

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

Lol this was dumb...

I can see the work you put into it and it was kind of funny...



BillZomonoBillZomono

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

I kinda liked it

The story and artwork were good, however the voices on some of the characters were annoying.



SBmanSBman

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

I've seen this before...

I've seen this before somewhere. Oh wait, it was Newgrounds years ago. Wtf was this, a resubmission? Last time you guys put this in it also got front page, and you promised a series, and didn't deliver.


Toonwerks responds:

Yes, this is a reboot of an old Flash by Xiphon called "Shadows of Azeroth" (we've hidden a link to it in the menu screens of the movie, but you can just go click on his other submissions dropdown). He was working on part 2 of that Flash years ago when he lost his work in a computer crash. So we decided to gut that movie of all the WoW references and team up to make sure we get through the whole series.


WorldOfStrikerWorldOfStriker

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

Shit Tweens ....

I totally agree with "Dated visuals, awful sound and a boring generic script. Stop using tweens and get onto some frame by frame, this will greatly improve your directing capabilities. Zoom and pan just don't cut it to keep interest for longer than 1 minute."


People find this review helpful!
Toonwerks responds:

no longer than 1 minute? THAN OUR PLAN OF WORLD DOMINATION HAS SUCCEEDED! the virus has already been implanted! aHA!