Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2010 | 3:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place July 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(The movie is about 13.5 MB, so go get a snack while you wait for it to load if you have a slow connection.)

UPDATE THE THIRD: And thanks again for helping us get weekly 5th!
UPDATE THE 2ND: Thanks for putting us on the front page!
UPDATE: Thanks everyone for giving "Legends" the votes to get Daily First!

Some Legends speak of heroes... and some speak of... these guys.

The carefully laid plans of the "Cult of the Lich" go horribly awry, as the Lord of Death himself is summoned into the world after being trapped in a dark tome for thousands of years. Our two unlikely heroes, the bumbling wizard wanna-be Xiphon, and his height impaired companion Slinks, are exiled to a evil forest and begin their quest to right the wrongs they help caused... or to just get into more trouble.

"Legends of the Black Book - Part 1" is the debut effort by team Toonwerks... made up of three Flash old-timers Casey McDonald ("Xiphon"), Mark Schneider ("th1rt3en"), and Joseph Blanchette ("LegendaryFrog&quot ;). With the goal of delivering original and smart animations, each one of us play to our strengths to give the the best possible experience to the viewer. We hope you enjoy the first part of this multi part series, and urge you to give feedback so we can make improvements in the future!

Reviews


RemarusRemarus

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 23, 2010

A talking tree? How absurd!

First off, full disclosure here, I did get an advanced screening of this, with some unfinished scenes and such, however much of my criticism of that version carries over to the main movie.

Liked: The art and animations. The art is very stylized, which is a good thing in a series like this. It's very colorful and has a great "animated" feel to it. The animations, oh lord the animations.... they are absolutely astounding! The little touches here and there go a long way in making the movements and characters believable.

Disliked: The voice work. Not necessarily the voices themselves, I thought they fit right in with the characters, and the cult leader's voice was spot on perfect. No, the problem I have is the quality of the microphones for the majority of the voice actors.

Casey, your guest actor, John Bain once gave advice to those who were interested in getting into podcasting when he was in charge of WoW Radio. This advice carries over to voice acting as well. If you're gonna do it, do it right. Spend the money on a quality desktop microphone, not a cheap headset mic (contact him and ask what he recommends.) This will up the production quality on the voices tenfold.

Gave me a sad: The animation lag. Whomever in your trio (or even in your circle of friends) that has the best computer should be the one cooking the final file so that this does not happen the next time. It really breaks the immersion of the movie.

All in all, great start, and I can't wait for the next part. (Even though I've been waiting since Shadows of Azeroth *grumble grumble*)


People find this review helpful!

BizzoneBizzone

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 22, 2010

Outstanding.

First of all, I liked the movie in general. Regarding the voicing replys, I do think that voicing of a short one is too...m-m-m...screechy. Expecting a low, gnome-like voice isn't the whole idea, but it still could have been slightly easier to listen to.

Second, the animation was great. Original, smooth and charming in it's simplicity.

Third, I liked the storyline. A mixture of fantasy, black humour and lousiness makes a good combination. )

Fourth, the characters are well thought through, which leaves plenty of space for brilliant further movies in the series.

Keep up the good work.



UnclevertitleUnclevertitle

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 22, 2010

Funny, clever, and it's at least somewhat original

I think we have a winning combination.

I look forward to the next episode.

Some of the audio could have been better balanced.


People find this review helpful!

TycraneTycrane

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 22, 2010

Amazing!

Very nice voice work and smooth animation. Good job!



destraightdestraight

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 22, 2010

nice good flash

i like your plot the way your characters act and with the humor and whatnot but i think they overreacted though so that is why i'm giving you a 9