Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 3, 2010 | 2:03 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 7, 2010
  • Review Crew Pick July 7, 2010
  • Daily Feature July 4, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Help Pete find his way through his mysterious and subconscious world!
UPDATE 3/11/12: Click on the Twitter and Facebook links to find out more about my upcoming iPad game!
UPDATE 7/7/10: Thanks to all for the review crew pick and users choice. I'm very very thankful :)
UPDATE 7/5/10: Thank you Tom for the Front Page :)
UPDATE 7/4/10: How wonderful. Daily feature. Thank you Newgrounds.... You really do make me smile.
UPDATE 7/3/10: Thanks for all the great reviews and ratings. Thank you Newgrounds!

CONTROLS: Use Arrow keys to move and mouse click to talk!

COMMENTS: Wow! After a year of work, I have finally released this thing. It's been exciting to make, and I hope you guys enjoy it :)

MUSIC:

http://www.newgrounds.com /audio/listen/345428

Download if you like.

Reviews


AntifreezeDesignAntifreezeDesign

Rated 5 / 5 stars

Beautiful

I really went somewhere, like the first time we experienced Myst. Your attention to detail in visual beauty as well as sound design make it the complete package. Now I only wish I had it in full-screen. Well done.



Darkmadden88Darkmadden88

Rated 5 / 5 stars

aawesome

great story great ending great music great everythig awesome but i wanna knw wt or who was tht bird in real life?


People find this review helpful!
wittyhobos responds:

thats a great question. prequel or sequel? i cant decide :)


ThePortalGuruThePortalGuru

Rated 5 / 5 stars

Too amazed for words

That description was a figure of speech, as there are going to be many words in this review.

I want to start out by commending you for the massive amount of work and effort you've clearly dumped into this project, as it is completely evident.

The gameplay in Coma actually works incredibly well. Your platform engine is great, and the jumps are spot on for the most part. The character controls well, and everything is very simple and easy to get the hang of. The blend of puzzle-solving along with the already present platform-exploration elements just made this game more of a treat for me to play through.

Storywise, I was shocked to find everything but an excuse story. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised by an enigmatic tale of a boy's perplexing dreamland, and set to uncover lost memories by traversing this unfamiliar land. It was a real throwback to the Nevermore series, and I must say I am more impressed with Coma's deep gameplay-driven narrative.

The graphics blew me away. There is just a sort of other-worldly charm and polish that so many other flash games seem to lack. In terms of creating atmosphere, I could compare the painterly fantasy land to something the likes of Studio Ghibli would create.

The calm sort of ambiance in the music really added to the isolation in some portions of the game, and the true serenity of other parts. Guitar was a great choice of instrument to add that fantastic feeling to each and every area. It felt like heart-played music, not just synth-filled crap.

In terms of design, I cannot give you enough praise. Each little tree, flower, person, or piece of dialogue felt natural, and the way it all blended together was nothing short of awe-inspiring. The puzzles were cleverly designed, but not a chore to solve, and every one of them bore some sort of importance to my task at hand.

Again, I cannot dump enough praise into this game. Through and through, it was a wonderful experience, and I simply cannot wait for any future projects you have planned.

Thank you for gracing Newgrounds with this game.


People find this review helpful!
wittyhobos responds:

Thank you for gracing me with you praise! I am so happy you enjoyed it Guru :)


Greenfrost6Greenfrost6

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

A work of art

That sums up this game easily. There's an obvious attention to the art style and ambiance of this game, which presented the unique idea of playing through one's mind. This abstract theme gave a good reason to have less detail to the story and more detail to the environment. Overall, a fantastic game, though creepy at times, was a joy to play.

This deserves a spot in the Art Games collection.


People find this review helpful!

DestructoBoxDestructoBox

Rated 5 / 5 stars

Beautiful

Simply put, this game is gorgeous. Very well done. Tons of personality. Reminds me of some of my old favorite platformers like Heart of Darkness or Oddworld. Embracing it's own style and running with it. Bravo.


People find this review helpful!