Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2010 | 11:57 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place June 30, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Chum Tosser Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cold Killer Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Mine Sweeper Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Rose Plucker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Royal Birler Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Coin Collector Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Horn Breaker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Mage Master Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Champion Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Top Tipper Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

NOTE: THIS GAME IS ENTIRELY KEYBOARD-CONTROLLED. Do not mistake a lack of response upon clicking on "New Game" as the game freezing on you, because this game does not allow mouse input. Use either of the select keys displayed in the Control Screen (SPACE or ENTER) to confirm your highlighted option. We have received a number of embarrassing comments from users believing the game to be broken at this point, even after continuing on from the Control Screen that states this fact. Don't make a buffoon of yourself, folks.

It's been a long time coming, but we've finally finished our enormous old school RPG, Epos. Assume the role of Tradda d'Bolve and embark on a daring mission to destroy the rogue Admiral Horn. With dozens of unique enemies, epic boss battles, and tons to unlock and collect as you chart the expansive map, this is one of the largest flash games ever made.

If anyone catches any issues, please PM them to CaptainPoncho so we can continue to refine the game. Hope you enjoy it, and sound off if you manage to beat the game.

Reviews


adrian-armentaadrian-armenta

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 29, 2010

lol at the raging boulder!!

serioulsy there is a lot of hard work put into this game and it turned out really well.

but you guys better hope you dont run into the raging boulder!!!


People find this review helpful!

milskidasithmilskidasith

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 29, 2010

Meh.

It works out pretty well overall; everything seems balanced, bosses are sort of difficult without being unfair, comon enemies are, as I suspect they are intended to be, nothing but nuisances.

However... there's no strategy, nor skill to the game at all. You just hit your strongest attacks/spells and cast a rejuvenate whenever your allies get low enough. There's not even really any depth in character creation, so that aspect doesn't really affect anything, and a lack of ability to re-spec your character is rather annoying.



rossiem7rossiem7

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 29, 2010

i feel mixed about this

i played this game through, and first thing to mention is that it looks brilliant. the way that the characters showed when they were injured was a great touch and the style of cartoony enemies reminded me of dragonquest a little.

but there was something lacking in the upgrading aspect, for one thing there was no equipment at all, and buying items felt more akin to spending points on powerups than actually spending money on provisions, something that made it harder for me to immerse. also the high level spells were somewhat obselete given that the base spells levelled up to become very destructive.

another thing was the world map. it wasnt terrible, there was an aspect of exploration involved, but for the most part travelling seemed very linear, and completing each area didnt feel like much of an achievement.

i enjoyed this game, but if these points could be developed then you'd really have a winner. maybe have a mouse option too?


People find this review helpful!

RopeDrinkRopeDrink

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 29, 2010

Cute, Simple, Fun

I've not completed the game to the fullest just yet but for such a simple game it has quite a nice number of varied elements to it to seperate it from the run-of-the-mill webRPG.

The combat system is simple yet effective, though a little repeatative and usually results in the player falling into a repeated pattern. I'm seemingly halfway through and I can quite comfortably use the same formula to beat mostly any battle thus far but that could change in the next zone for all I know.

The graphics are cute though the characters and plot aren't all that interesting, which isn't saved by the very appreciated injection of humour here and there.

TL;DR, this is a cute, fun and simple game that won't blow anyone away but may very well suck a satisfying amount of time out of your daily schedule if you'll allow it.

-1 Star for minor gripes, otherwise a very nicely made game thus far.


People find this review helpful!

Jakemanjakey69Jakemanjakey69

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 29, 2010

Very entertaining

This was an all around great game good story, good graphics, good humor, and good difficulty. I beat the game too and that colonel guy too though it took me 3 tries :P i highly enjoyed this game and would reccomend it to anyone who likes to have fun playing games.