Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2010 | 12:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

GRAPHICS INTENSIVE; MEDIUM VIEWING QUALITY RECOMMENDED; SCREEN EXTENSION NOT RECOMMENDED

2 and a half years of work have led to this - my little 14 minute epic. To give fair warning, anyone in the mood for straight up action or comedy will probably be disappointed. But it is my hope that those ready to dive into a new world full of fantastic technology, false words, and rising snow will find much to enjoy in Dual Arms Verbatim Part 1.

Those who would like the fullest appreciation of the story are encouraged to peruse the "World" section of the menu, (I've designed it to have no spoilers, save perhaps slightly in the NAU part of the factions).

If you could spare the time, I'd really appreciate any constructive feedback you guys can offer on my work, so if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions for me, please leave a review. I can't guarantee a response to each, but be assured that I read every one. Thanks!

EDIT 5: Subs finally active and pausable! Note again that due to a bug, subs are reactivated at the beginning of each scene, regardless of whether they were active or not. I have structured the subs to disappear in several dialogue-less areas, so it may not seem this way, but they are there. There is no known fix to this, but I hope it doesn't inconvenience you too much. Just turn them off if in doubt.
If you come across any other bugs, (including typos and such) please PM me with them (don't review just to tell a bug - pm's are easier for me to keep track of). Thanks!
The previous version added an extra's section with some links. Concept Art is also finally active!
ENJOY!

Anyone who wants more Dual Arms after seeing the movie and REALLY cant wait for part II may appreciate seeing the Verbatim Trailer here http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/537880

And if you don't mind some...crappy animation, you can also check out the chronological sequel to the Dual Arms Verbatim plot - Dual Arms Precipice http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/411273 It was made before starting Verbatim some 2 years ago, and it shows. My skill was even less then than now, and it has sound problems similar to Verbatim (though it DOES have sloppily done subs). But the plot there is a bit more understandable and in a sort of strange spoiler PRECIPICE CONTAINS THE FINAL FATE OF SETH FROM THIS VIDEO. With that in mind, those who liked Verbatim may enjoy it, so take a look.

EDIT: Woot - Daily third! Thanks to everyone who voted. Rest assured, part 2 WILL be made; you WILL one day see the conclusion of Dual Arms Verbatim, should you choose to do so. With that in mind, please bear with me another few years whilst I set everything in order. T_T I hope the conclusion will rise to your expectations! Thanks again to all who watched.

EDIT 3: FRONT PAGED! YEAAAAAAH. Thanks again to everyone who liked the work, and thanks to Tom for giving me the opportunity to get some more feedback. Part II will come people! Look out for it!

Reviews


shadowknightxshadowknightx

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

Fantastic!

I know it took you quite some time to pull everything together and finally see Verbatim through to fruition but it was definitely worth the wait! Im no good with flash animation so I can't really give to much advice but like a majority of the other reviews I can only point out that the animation was a little choppy at times and that some of the voice acting could be better. However you've spent a great deal of time and hard work, and I can honestly say thats its noticeable. Im definitely looking forward to the conclusion of Verbatim in part 2!


RPGsrok responds:

You know better than most of these people how long this thing's been going >_>. And that's with the choppy animation and voices I still couldn't really fix. (though, did you have the good fortune to see the subbed version? Did that make the voices easier to understand?) And it's great to know that the effort I put in shows.

Always good to hear from ya, man. I'll try to keep you in the loop for Part 2 - it's coming! Thanks for reviewing!


RedSunFighterRedSunFighter

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 25, 2010

OH MAHA GOD!!

PLEASE MAKE A SECOND PLEASE!!!!!!!! I REALLY LIKED IT!!! But i would like you to partner with someone!! Theres soooo much potential and itd be awesome if were like final fantasy graphics...


RPGsrok responds:

I can't guarantee partnering with people will result in FF graphics, (I'm certainly not switching to all CG if that's what you mean >_<) but there were a few people who've kindly offered to help me out, and if anything that may result in a better, more quickly made Verbatim Part II.

Glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing.


Nicholas-DearyNicholas-Deary

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

One of the best flashes on NG!

Wow! This flash is amazing in quality and it is obvious that you have spent a great deal of time on it. From the very beginning I could tell that it was going to be a fantastic flash. The use of the dynamic camera angles, the continuity editing between certain scenes and the shear complexity of it gives it the edge over most other flashes on the site. One of my favourite things about the flash was that the different scenes reminded me of so many other things. The scene where the train enters the snowy world reminded me of the Xombie series for it's atmospheric values and the interior scenes in the snow area reminded me of certain levels from Halo 3.

The complexity of the characters, plot and settings you created reminded me of Mass Effect and this has to be the main thing I would draw comparison to. I thought that the use of 3D was a great choice and fit in well with most of the scenes (Swift 3D I'm assuming). I don't usually watch long flashes on NG as very few can hold up over it's length of time, but this one is definitely an exception. It is a shame that the score of this submission isn't higher, the sad thing is that a lot of people won't watch the whole flash and will therefore rate it without experiencing the full quality of it.

I have little criticism to express about this flash but I do have a couple of things to point out. I think that in some parts the voice acting is a little off and is a little hard to understand. That isn't necessarily your fault but maybe subtitles would have been a good idea. One other thing is that although as a whole the artwork was excellent, there would certain parts where the characters looked a little rough but really that wasn't much of an issue.

Anyway, brilliant flash I thoroughly enjoyed watching it and all that's left for me to say is please make part 2!


RPGsrok responds:

I'm glad you enjoyed the flash, and thank you for watching it the whole way through. Sadly, interesting though they seem, I haven't seen Zombie, and haven't played Halo or Mass Effect, though Mass Effect in particular certainly looked interesting to me.

I was indeed using swift 3D and I continue to be impressed by how little you guys mind my lack of 3D skill. I certainly hope to improve, should I ever be so fortunate as to find some classes to take, but I'm glad you thought well of them.

Indeed I would LOVE to have some subs and so as I've mentioned before IF ANYONE CAN CODE ACTIVATABLE SUBTITLES PLEASE LET ME KNOW. I don't have that sort of coding skill and I find the sort where you just hover your cursor over the bottom of the screen to be very amateur. If I have the good fortune to find out how to do decent subs, I will upload a new version of the video and if you want, I can let you know. I thought there were some good performances on the part of my actors and a few lacking, in acting and quality; overall I still think they did a good job. Character roughness was definately something I needed work on.

Thank you for reviewing, and please have patience; part 2 will be made eventually and I can only hope it will rise to your expectations.


dragunman1dragunman1

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2010

Epic, greatly done

I don't find many flashes that i find worth commenting on.. there's alot of 10's out there but i beleive you went the extra mile. This flash was well constructed and very entertaining. I'm sure Part 2 will be just as excellent


RPGsrok responds:

Glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!


UriahTWolfeUriahTWolfe

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

Definitely a winner.

Very well done on all fronts, from what I could see. Thanks, and keep 'em coming! :-)


RPGsrok responds:

Glad you liked it! I'll do what I can. Thanks for reviewing!