Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2010 | 12:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

GRAPHICS INTENSIVE; MEDIUM VIEWING QUALITY RECOMMENDED; SCREEN EXTENSION NOT RECOMMENDED

2 and a half years of work have led to this - my little 14 minute epic. To give fair warning, anyone in the mood for straight up action or comedy will probably be disappointed. But it is my hope that those ready to dive into a new world full of fantastic technology, false words, and rising snow will find much to enjoy in Dual Arms Verbatim Part 1.

Those who would like the fullest appreciation of the story are encouraged to peruse the "World" section of the menu, (I've designed it to have no spoilers, save perhaps slightly in the NAU part of the factions).

If you could spare the time, I'd really appreciate any constructive feedback you guys can offer on my work, so if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions for me, please leave a review. I can't guarantee a response to each, but be assured that I read every one. Thanks!

EDIT 5: Subs finally active and pausable! Note again that due to a bug, subs are reactivated at the beginning of each scene, regardless of whether they were active or not. I have structured the subs to disappear in several dialogue-less areas, so it may not seem this way, but they are there. There is no known fix to this, but I hope it doesn't inconvenience you too much. Just turn them off if in doubt.
If you come across any other bugs, (including typos and such) please PM me with them (don't review just to tell a bug - pm's are easier for me to keep track of). Thanks!
The previous version added an extra's section with some links. Concept Art is also finally active!
ENJOY!

Anyone who wants more Dual Arms after seeing the movie and REALLY cant wait for part II may appreciate seeing the Verbatim Trailer here http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/537880

And if you don't mind some...crappy animation, you can also check out the chronological sequel to the Dual Arms Verbatim plot - Dual Arms Precipice http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/411273 It was made before starting Verbatim some 2 years ago, and it shows. My skill was even less then than now, and it has sound problems similar to Verbatim (though it DOES have sloppily done subs). But the plot there is a bit more understandable and in a sort of strange spoiler PRECIPICE CONTAINS THE FINAL FATE OF SETH FROM THIS VIDEO. With that in mind, those who liked Verbatim may enjoy it, so take a look.

EDIT: Woot - Daily third! Thanks to everyone who voted. Rest assured, part 2 WILL be made; you WILL one day see the conclusion of Dual Arms Verbatim, should you choose to do so. With that in mind, please bear with me another few years whilst I set everything in order. T_T I hope the conclusion will rise to your expectations! Thanks again to all who watched.

EDIT 3: FRONT PAGED! YEAAAAAAH. Thanks again to everyone who liked the work, and thanks to Tom for giving me the opportunity to get some more feedback. Part II will come people! Look out for it!

Reviews


EieniasKCEieniasKC

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

great beginning

from all the work that you clearly put into it AND the final product, i can tell this is the beginning of something big

when i started watching it felt like something i wanted to do long time ago but once i realized how hard animating can be and the absence of flash i kinda gave up on it

enough about that, just really great animation, loved the characters and the very detailed plot that seems to be going on, read through the world section as well, creating an entire universe or rather omniverse and history for the world, great job on that


RPGsrok responds:

It's definitely a small part of a great idea, though as you noted, great ideas require great amounts of time to realize >_< Glad the characters and plot worked out for you - personally it seems like I can still do some work, but it's good to know even this has done good for some. Thanks for reading on the world - it's practically a hobby of mine to flesh out details like that, and I cant say how good it is to know that you guys like reading through it.

Thanks for reviewing!


UriahTWolfeUriahTWolfe

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

Definitely a winner.

Very well done on all fronts, from what I could see. Thanks, and keep 'em coming! :-)


RPGsrok responds:

Glad you liked it! I'll do what I can. Thanks for reviewing!


james-pinfoldjames-pinfold

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

good

unless my ears deceive me the title music is from final fantasy 12


RPGsrok responds:

ur ears do not deceive. as said in teh credits, that's Seeking Power from FFXII (played in the snow area - a good fit in my opinion)

Game music is somewhat underrated and I like a lot of the songs I ended up using here, but I think I will be attempting to use original music in the future, if I can get some good music. ^^

thx for reviewing!


shadowknightxshadowknightx

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

Fantastic!

I know it took you quite some time to pull everything together and finally see Verbatim through to fruition but it was definitely worth the wait! Im no good with flash animation so I can't really give to much advice but like a majority of the other reviews I can only point out that the animation was a little choppy at times and that some of the voice acting could be better. However you've spent a great deal of time and hard work, and I can honestly say thats its noticeable. Im definitely looking forward to the conclusion of Verbatim in part 2!


RPGsrok responds:

You know better than most of these people how long this thing's been going >_>. And that's with the choppy animation and voices I still couldn't really fix. (though, did you have the good fortune to see the subbed version? Did that make the voices easier to understand?) And it's great to know that the effort I put in shows.

Always good to hear from ya, man. I'll try to keep you in the loop for Part 2 - it's coming! Thanks for reviewing!


BruckersBruckers

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

quite the epic

I dont really want to say what's been said, but the negatives are as people have mentioned. It looks just a little choppy.

However, I think all the the other elements you have pulled together here make up for that.

I can see this as the intro to a very good and deeply involved RPG like mass effect.

all that is left to say is Bravo!

your hard work shows.


RPGsrok responds:

Courteous of you to leave it at "a little" choppy, though I'm glad the other elements came through for you.

Obviously you're thinking in the far, hypothetical future, but honestly, and especially on NG, I've started to picture a hypothetical Dual Arms game as a 2D fighter, maybe with RPG exploration elements, maybe not.

When I first started thinking about Dual Arms years and years and years ago, I thought it could structured game wise as a Sonic game, moving fast in a 3D environment. Then I watched the Sonic series go to shit, an now I don't think gameplay like that is such a good idea. I think Dual Arms might fare well as a simple to learn, ideally hard to master 2D fighter where you choose different characters and fought it out through all the different environments.

Sorry, I like to rant on such things. It's good to know I didn't waste those years. Thanks for reviewing!