Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2010 | 12:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

GRAPHICS INTENSIVE; MEDIUM VIEWING QUALITY RECOMMENDED; SCREEN EXTENSION NOT RECOMMENDED

2 and a half years of work have led to this - my little 14 minute epic. To give fair warning, anyone in the mood for straight up action or comedy will probably be disappointed. But it is my hope that those ready to dive into a new world full of fantastic technology, false words, and rising snow will find much to enjoy in Dual Arms Verbatim Part 1.

Those who would like the fullest appreciation of the story are encouraged to peruse the "World" section of the menu, (I've designed it to have no spoilers, save perhaps slightly in the NAU part of the factions).

If you could spare the time, I'd really appreciate any constructive feedback you guys can offer on my work, so if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions for me, please leave a review. I can't guarantee a response to each, but be assured that I read every one. Thanks!

EDIT 5: Subs finally active and pausable! Note again that due to a bug, subs are reactivated at the beginning of each scene, regardless of whether they were active or not. I have structured the subs to disappear in several dialogue-less areas, so it may not seem this way, but they are there. There is no known fix to this, but I hope it doesn't inconvenience you too much. Just turn them off if in doubt.
If you come across any other bugs, (including typos and such) please PM me with them (don't review just to tell a bug - pm's are easier for me to keep track of). Thanks!
The previous version added an extra's section with some links. Concept Art is also finally active!
ENJOY!

Anyone who wants more Dual Arms after seeing the movie and REALLY cant wait for part II may appreciate seeing the Verbatim Trailer here http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/537880

And if you don't mind some...crappy animation, you can also check out the chronological sequel to the Dual Arms Verbatim plot - Dual Arms Precipice http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/411273 It was made before starting Verbatim some 2 years ago, and it shows. My skill was even less then than now, and it has sound problems similar to Verbatim (though it DOES have sloppily done subs). But the plot there is a bit more understandable and in a sort of strange spoiler PRECIPICE CONTAINS THE FINAL FATE OF SETH FROM THIS VIDEO. With that in mind, those who liked Verbatim may enjoy it, so take a look.

EDIT: Woot - Daily third! Thanks to everyone who voted. Rest assured, part 2 WILL be made; you WILL one day see the conclusion of Dual Arms Verbatim, should you choose to do so. With that in mind, please bear with me another few years whilst I set everything in order. T_T I hope the conclusion will rise to your expectations! Thanks again to all who watched.

EDIT 3: FRONT PAGED! YEAAAAAAH. Thanks again to everyone who liked the work, and thanks to Tom for giving me the opportunity to get some more feedback. Part II will come people! Look out for it!

Reviews


darthchuckleedarthchucklee

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 25, 2010

OH MY GOD

This MOvie WAs AMSOENEFRQWFQAF!!!!!!!!!


RPGsrok responds:

Glad YOu LikeD iT ThX foR REvieWING!!!!!


SiGMA-VIISiGMA-VII

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 25, 2010

Absolutely Stunning

This has got to be one of the most involved Flash movies I have ever seen. The amount of time you must have put into designing the story, characters, and settings in the movie... it's flooring. I'm very impressed, and I can't wait for part 2 :)

10/10, 5/5.


RPGsrok responds:

It's good to know that was two years well spent. ^^ Thanks for reviewing!


RedSunFighterRedSunFighter

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 25, 2010

OH MAHA GOD!!

PLEASE MAKE A SECOND PLEASE!!!!!!!! I REALLY LIKED IT!!! But i would like you to partner with someone!! Theres soooo much potential and itd be awesome if were like final fantasy graphics...


RPGsrok responds:

I can't guarantee partnering with people will result in FF graphics, (I'm certainly not switching to all CG if that's what you mean >_<) but there were a few people who've kindly offered to help me out, and if anything that may result in a better, more quickly made Verbatim Part II.

Glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing.


EmoteFluxEmoteFlux

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2010

Excellent!

Lots of time and energy put into this project. I'm a sucker for actual story and content so this definitely got my attention. Voice acting was decent (one of the voice actors sounds like Snake from Metal Gear) and the art and animation is good. I wish i had the patience to put something like this together. Good choices for music and ambient sounds. Keep it up! Look forward to more!


RPGsrok responds:

I'm just as amazed as you that this thing ever got made. You just gotta never forget about what you start - finish at any cost, and you will finish one day. ^^ Glad you like the voice acting, I thought they did a good job. Hopefully next time, I'll be able to get some original music in there.

Glad you liked the movie, thanks for reviewing!


lucon1lucon1

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 24, 2010

Loved it

I thought it was great. It was well planned out, and the story was excellent and involving.

The art was odd ot say the least. It was pretty good, but some of it didn't seem to match. also at some times the animation was choppy, I don't know maybe it was just me.

Also the sound could have been better. some voices were louder, and some were quieter/ softer. I felt you could have edited the sound to fit better.

All in all I liked it. I will be looking forward to part 2. 4/5 8/10


RPGsrok responds:

It's hard to say exactly what you mean by not matching, but I will say by pure merit of my lack of skill and the hard poses I needed to do, there was some inconsistancy in the animation. The choppiness is most certainly not just you. There was only so much I could do on my own to smooth out the animation while getting it done in a reasonable timeframe.

Sound design has also been a large problem for me - thankfully, I did end up finishing this subtitled version - hopefully it helped you at least understand the dialogue.

Glad you liked the movie. Thanks for reviewing!