Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2010 | 12:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

GRAPHICS INTENSIVE; MEDIUM VIEWING QUALITY RECOMMENDED; SCREEN EXTENSION NOT RECOMMENDED

2 and a half years of work have led to this - my little 14 minute epic. To give fair warning, anyone in the mood for straight up action or comedy will probably be disappointed. But it is my hope that those ready to dive into a new world full of fantastic technology, false words, and rising snow will find much to enjoy in Dual Arms Verbatim Part 1.

Those who would like the fullest appreciation of the story are encouraged to peruse the "World" section of the menu, (I've designed it to have no spoilers, save perhaps slightly in the NAU part of the factions).

If you could spare the time, I'd really appreciate any constructive feedback you guys can offer on my work, so if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions for me, please leave a review. I can't guarantee a response to each, but be assured that I read every one. Thanks!

EDIT 5: Subs finally active and pausable! Note again that due to a bug, subs are reactivated at the beginning of each scene, regardless of whether they were active or not. I have structured the subs to disappear in several dialogue-less areas, so it may not seem this way, but they are there. There is no known fix to this, but I hope it doesn't inconvenience you too much. Just turn them off if in doubt.
If you come across any other bugs, (including typos and such) please PM me with them (don't review just to tell a bug - pm's are easier for me to keep track of). Thanks!
The previous version added an extra's section with some links. Concept Art is also finally active!
ENJOY!

Anyone who wants more Dual Arms after seeing the movie and REALLY cant wait for part II may appreciate seeing the Verbatim Trailer here http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/537880

And if you don't mind some...crappy animation, you can also check out the chronological sequel to the Dual Arms Verbatim plot - Dual Arms Precipice http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/411273 It was made before starting Verbatim some 2 years ago, and it shows. My skill was even less then than now, and it has sound problems similar to Verbatim (though it DOES have sloppily done subs). But the plot there is a bit more understandable and in a sort of strange spoiler PRECIPICE CONTAINS THE FINAL FATE OF SETH FROM THIS VIDEO. With that in mind, those who liked Verbatim may enjoy it, so take a look.

EDIT: Woot - Daily third! Thanks to everyone who voted. Rest assured, part 2 WILL be made; you WILL one day see the conclusion of Dual Arms Verbatim, should you choose to do so. With that in mind, please bear with me another few years whilst I set everything in order. T_T I hope the conclusion will rise to your expectations! Thanks again to all who watched.

EDIT 3: FRONT PAGED! YEAAAAAAH. Thanks again to everyone who liked the work, and thanks to Tom for giving me the opportunity to get some more feedback. Part II will come people! Look out for it!

Reviews


purple-wormpurple-worm

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 22, 2010

A great start!

I really loved the style of your animation. The story was good and moved along nicely. I can't wait for the next part. The only problem I had was at some points it was a little hard to hear. Maybe you could put subtitles?


RPGsrok responds:

Glad you liked it! I've been even my animation needs work but its good to know you liked the story too.

My sound design definately needs work >_> I'm working on a version with subs - hopefully it'll b up in the next week. We'll see - pm me if you want to know when I finish it.

Thanks for reviewing!


kevan111kevan111

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

Great!

This is great! I'm always interested in deep and interesting plots and I got to say, so far, this is the best plot I've seen in newgrounds! But, um, just a personal opinion: I can't really catch what they say at times; can you put english subtitles? So everyone can understand?


RPGsrok responds:

Glad you like the story. Believe me, its not just you; several people have requested subs and I'm working with someone to get the code to add some. If it all works out, I'll be uploading a new version of the movie next week that includes subs (send me a pm if you'd like to know when its out).

Thanks for reviewing!


Ace137Ace137

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

I liked but im a little confused

Y did (n sry i really dont remember their names) the red head kill that kid? If i have 2 watch in order 2 find out ill gladly oblige lol but great series starter im already sucked in.


RPGsrok responds:

Voroan, the one killed, was a Union Spy (if you watch, he's mentioned in connection to Northind and by extention, Yurith, the other agents). Araine (the red head) is one of the Imperial Agents, and although the details could certainly not be ascertained just from watching this movie, I hope you could see how conflict would break out.

If you're curious, Voroan was copying classified data Araine was involved with. If you watch carefully, you can see a sort of orb in one of the shots where Araine is killing Voroan - the orb is a storage device. The reader/copier for the orb was the device Araine used to hit Voroan.

Thanks for reviewing.


jetcar1994jetcar1994

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

Pretty good so far.

My only real problem was that I couldn't really hear the people too well, but it was still good anyways. I liked how the 3d fit in with the rest of the animation, as well. I'd definitely like to see where this story goes.

On a side note, I almost laughed when I recognized that credits song of yours :P Fellow Last Exile fan, eh?

Wish I could give it an 8.5/10 instead of just an 8...


RPGsrok responds:

Yes well, I've said it before, I'll say it again - my sound design sucks. I'm working on a subtitled version though, and I'll be sure to tell you (if you'd like) when I upload it. My 3D skills aren't that good - though if Swift 3D does ANYTHING well, it does create imagery that blends very naturally into flash.

I had been a little annoyed at my choice of music there - I would've liked to have an original (or at least instrumental) ending, but I guess it was worthwhile to find another Last Exile fan. ^^ I wouldn't be surprised if the inclusion of Greek was a result of some sort of subconscious influence from Last Exile, now that I think of it.

You COULD have rounded up and given me a 9 ^^ But its cool xD. Thanks for reviewing!


Ced-DCed-D

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

im super impressed

this is top quality the loading time a bit long but well worth it the animation is superb and story is quite caching all can say is well done man


RPGsrok responds:

Glad you liked it, thx for reviewing