Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 13, 2010 | 6:26 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Cave half full 5 Points Beat half the levels
Escape 50 Points Beat the game once
SpeedRun 50 Points Beat the game in Speed Run

Author Comments

Hey make sure you're LOGGED IN for this one. The medals unlock new levels and new modes.

This is a platformer with 30 stages where you have to manuevre your way out of booby-trapped underground caves. The main trap is that sand's flooding in, but it'll introduce other stuff along the way.

UP TO JUMP.
HOLD DOWN WHILE IN THE AIR TO SPIN DOWN.
RESTART A LEVEL WITH THE SPACEBAR OR R.

I made most of this game like a year ago, when it was just blue-gray blocks jumpin around. I couldn't work out a good aesthetic where the floor was rising but DOESN'T affect the environment. It was only recently when I was thinkin about something completely different an I thought OH YEAH, DUHR, SAND. SAND IS EXACTLY WHAT THIS GAME NEEDS TO BE ABOUT. Then I came back n finished it, made the guy a desert babe.

One o the early ideas I had was that it was a small girl trapped down a well, and the game was called "Let's Get Outta Here". Another idea was that you were on a sinking ship and water was flooding in.
I got the MAIN idea from a level in Jak and Daxter 1 where you're in this silo and this black poison business is rising up, but there's LOADS of games that do a similar idea. I took most of the code from Mighty Tower, a game I made last year which was mostly based on Meat Boy.

Thanks to Newgrounds fo sponsoring, and everyone else who wanted to sponsor.
Also "Pimp of Persia" is like the best named track on the site.
Also here's a walkthrough:
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=oGACtx48r1Y

Reviews


ligerninja89ligerninja89

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

Fun

As many people have mentioned the controls were slippery but i got used to it after a while. I think that some levels were to easy and just had to wait until the sand lifted me to the door, but perhaps the speed trial is more challenging. Also it could have been a little longer. But all in all, a decent time killer



DrunkAngryRussianDrunkAngryRussian

Rated 1 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

TOO HARD

Needs better control and a difficulty setting



mikex972mikex972

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

Ez way to beat the game

Just right click then press play do this constantly


People find this review helpful!

KeroKeroMarioKeroKeroMario

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

Extremely Challenging

This is a very challenging and tough game. Well, the amount of level variety is great. However, the character's ponytail was rather... strangely animated. Eh, I don't mind.

At first I quite enjoyed it, but it got to where it was very frustrating, missing the goal by bare seconds due to the sand. The controls didn't help either. The character skidded to far, and more often than not found it frustrating to jump, let alone wall jump.

After I cooled from the frustration, I went and played it again. And, like last time, it soon became frustrating and unresponsive. On top of that, you left the player able to cheat. Whether or not this was on purpose, I don't know. But it surely didn't show professionally.

Overall, a 6/10 (3/5, not a bad score at all, just at middle). But keep trying! If the game had more solid controls and easier maneuverability, it'd be a fun challenge. But, due to the controls, it's very annoying. As I said, keep on learning and rollin'.



SGamerXxXSGamerXxX

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

Yay!

A bit short, but a very fun game.
Liked the hair effect, would be interesting if you ever make a sequel if she uses that hair in some way e.g. for swinging on?.