Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 27, 2010 | 12:56 AM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick June 1, 2010
  • Daily Feature May 28, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place June 1, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This is one of my entries from the 2008 Tournament Of Flash Artists (TOFA), which I ended up winning. The theme for this animation was "Bob wanted an apple, so..."
I made the crappy music and my bro Donald made the good music.

And TOFA is on again this year, sponsored by Adobe and happening at AlbinoBlacksheep.com
So if animating to given guidelines in a short amount of time (e.g. 2-4 weeks) is your kind of thing, head on over to the TOFA website and sign up by nominating yourself in the forum. You only have about a week left to register, now! There's big PRIZE$ up for grabs this year, too. (/spam)
I won't be entering this time, however, so if you can animate better what you see in this video, then you might just win some BIG BUCKS.

The Adobe TOFA 2010 website: http://tofa.munchymedia.c om/

Reviews


kircburnstonkircburnston

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 19, 2011

i cried when he lost the apple

this is truly a masterpiece. not only is the story good, philosophical and humbling. but the animation and art is. but that is merely a fraction of what is awesome about it. i absolutely love this animation. there are only 3 things on this website that make me feel the way that this made me feel.

idc about how come nobody knows what an apple is. or passing the moon and crap. but the whole thing was soooooo.... idk. its just awesome.

actually, the fact that you thought of making seem like no-one knew what an apple was, and that it was some legendary plant that is so sacred the seed is stored in a special pot and stuff. how do you come up that stuff? its so cool.

animation 20/20
story 20/20
art 20/20
sense of well being and happiness after watching it....

unmeasurable


People find this review helpful!

SonArnoSonArno

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 23, 2010

how do you like them apples? ^^

this sentence just shot into my head after watching this.

may i ask: what darn year or time does this flash take place in?
because i can't quite seem to follow why apples a big unknown mystery...

anyways, very awesome flash. very artistic, with fitting music and also a philosophical touch to it. this is one of those flashes that doesn't need voiceacting to be successful.

also, did the artist pass the moon? cuz if he did, and you would maybe consider a sequel, you could make him, on his way back down, see the man in the moon or something like that - making him find his next piece of art.

but it would have to have an awesome punchline just like this one.
no doubt you'd come up with something: keep going! :-)


People find this review helpful!
TmsT responds:

As far as I know, there isn't a time in history when apples were unheard of, but there have been places that did not have the apple introduced until later. But that's irrelevant, since this story doesn't take place on our Earth, but somewhere else, where apples are an unknown mystery, and the reason why is revealed at the end.

Funny you should mention a sequel, because somebody did start making one, but it was for TOFA 2010 and they ran out of time before deadline:
http://www.munchymedia.com/Contests/T OFA10/round1/round1-fufuberry.swf


bflickbflick

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 26, 2010

WOW

that should b one of the top reviewed flashes on NG that was awsome nice job


People find this review helpful!

HolmHolm

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 26, 2010

Wow.

It's flash films like this that needs attention.


People find this review helpful!

Alexman121Alexman121

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

I never liked apples...

Until now.


People find this review helpful!