Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 26, 2010 | 10:53 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 27, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place June 1, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

In the 1066 game you get to control the English, Viking or Norman armies. The aim of the game is to defeat your enemy's army by killing or scaring off as many of them as possible! The game puts you into the thick of the action, giving you direct control over every arrow barrage, cavalry charge and defensive stand. Taunts, chants and the presence of a strong leader will all prove crucial to winning the day.

A multiplayer option also offers the chance to test your mettle against friends.

Updates:
If the game is running slowly for you, try right clicking and changing the quality to 'medium' or 'low'. This should help improve performance.

Instructions:
For full instructions, click on the 'How to Play' section of the game.
-
Moving and Attacking the Enemy
Selecting the 'Move' command allows you to select a new position for your unit. The highlighted area indicates your unit's range of movement. Different units can move different distances.
-
The Battle Unfolds
Once you have selected your commands, hit the 'EXECUTE COMMANDS' button and all the actions are played out in the Battle View. You will need to keep your wits about you, as you will be thrown into different mini-games which will determine the outcome of the round.
-
Archery
Click and drag your mouse on the battlefield to select the power and angle of your archer attack - then let go to rain arrow down on your enemy.
-
Combat
When two opposing units are next to each other, combat will occur. Hit the cursor keys at the right time to inflict brutal damage on your enemy.
-
Taunt
Type the insult as quickly as possible to rally your troops and scare your enemy into submission.
-
Charge
When a unit is charging tap the space-bar as quickly as possible to build up power and smash through your enemy.
-
Morale
The morale of your army is incredibly important in the game, so keep a close eye on the ARMY MORALE in the info panel. Keeping your morale high and reducing that of your enemy will be the key to victory.

Reviews


damon105damon105

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 7, 2010

his is a brilliant game

this game rocks and has perfect battle types. im amazed it took newgrounds so long to get it submitted in m


People find this review helpful!

MasterRyanMasterRyan

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars June 7, 2010

Meh,

This is a very well structured game, although i liked the design, the matches dragged on for too long and i never got to finish a match as it eventually got repetitive. try to make the matches quicker, or you will repel your audience.



manicjudgementmanicjudgement

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 7, 2010

Sorry, Longknife, but...

The morale system is perfect. If you can figure out how to use it, you can win without losing a single group, with 100 morale, and 0 for your opponent. Obviously, it's worthy of a King rank, and it's what I got by manipulating their morale.
My best:
Battle Rank King
Vikings Lost 235 English Lost 2053
Vikings Fled 0 English Fled 947
Army Morale 100 Army Morale 0

Amazing game. I love it.



LongknifeLongknife

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 7, 2010

Maybe it's just me, but....

The game is good, but I haven't gotten to play it much. I've played the first level three times, and every time, I've outnumbered the enemy army immensely. Then, when I get to the "boss," (king piece?) it always defeats whichever army I throw at it first, which causes well over half of my army to run away like pussies.

This last game I literally had 6 armies to his one, but he charged one, killed it, two other ones ran away, and then the last three slowly lost their morale and ran away.

All I'm saying is, it looks pretty freaking ridiculous when I outnumber my opponent six to one, and yet the moment it becomes 5 to 1, half my army starts running. Might wanna tweak the morale system a bit....Otherwise, pretty good game.


People find this review helpful!

KamaketawongwangKamaketawongwang

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars June 7, 2010

hmmm

This game was Mean! but abit of lagg in areas of the game ruined it for me