Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 14, 2010 | 10:52 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place May 16, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Author Comments

Race through four different areas dodging and destroying obstacles in order to collect coins and earn medals for your score and survival time in this sequel to Eruption.

May 19, 2010 Notes:

A number of people have pointed out that many of the graphics in Tropical Dragon Slaughter are from Tyrian (this is noted on the title screen as well) -- an excellent shmup originally released in the mid-90s. If you've never played it, you probably should; Google "OpenTyrian" to find the freeware version.

Daniel Cook, the original artist for Tyrian, made the graphics freely available via his blog, Lost Garden -- you can find them at this URL:

http://www.lostgarden.com /2007/04/free-game-graphi cs-tyrian-ships-and.html

Enjoy!

Reviews


MTtoast13MTtoast13

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

Excellent!

A fun game based on an amusing premise. I liked how each area contained its own kind of difficulty instead of just ratcheting it up every time you played a different one. I just can't stop playing it...@_@


People find this review helpful!

SinisterniikSinisterniik

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

Great sequel!

This is a perfect example of taking people's recommendations to heart.

It's a great game and has fantastic replay value!


People find this review helpful!

CyberCheeseCyberCheese

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

hmm i thought it was ok

i was playing it and figured the reviewers below me talking about tyrian were just saying that because they liked a similar game (never played it), untill i saw the reference in the menu :/
not bad, but if your going to bother copying something at the very least dont leave it as a shadow of the original

at least i cknow about tyrian now



Dynasty471Dynasty471

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

Tyrian, except not nearly as good

I remember Tyrian from when I was in elementary school and I played it a LOT on my old Acer computer. I loved the game. So I'm going to be comparing you to that, which was made in 1995. This game copied some of the graphics... but didn't copy any of the fun factor. This game was overall pretty boring because you really can't do anything. It's just a shoot and dodge, and besides the ship, the gun, the coins/diamonds, which you copied, the graphics for everything else are pretty lame.


People find this review helpful!

DrynixDrynix

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

Not as good as...

Tyrian. The game which you used to make this. Partially a rip off but still fine on itself. Though if you are used to Tyrian this game is nothing and you will beat everything in just one try making this game lose his replayability rather fast.


People find this review helpful!