Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 14, 2010 | 10:52 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place May 16, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Author Comments

Race through four different areas dodging and destroying obstacles in order to collect coins and earn medals for your score and survival time in this sequel to Eruption.

May 19, 2010 Notes:

A number of people have pointed out that many of the graphics in Tropical Dragon Slaughter are from Tyrian (this is noted on the title screen as well) -- an excellent shmup originally released in the mid-90s. If you've never played it, you probably should; Google "OpenTyrian" to find the freeware version.

Daniel Cook, the original artist for Tyrian, made the graphics freely available via his blog, Lost Garden -- you can find them at this URL:

http://www.lostgarden.com /2007/04/free-game-graphi cs-tyrian-ships-and.html

Enjoy!

Reviews


LegacyCronoLegacyCrono

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 19, 2010

Tyrian, BUT...

Looks like Tyrian but isn't nearly as good.
It's a nice game, but lacks content.



KuldraKuldra

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 19, 2010

good but....

yeah the diffeculty goes up crazy fast not a a bad thing as such but since you can't take a hit and your weapon is kinda shit you need to do something about that but in generaly i love the graphics and the music sweet goats bread where can i get that music that is by far the biggest plus in this game music that fits with both gameplay and the general style of this game so yeah thumbs up from me


People find this review helpful!

freeone3000freeone3000

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

Interesting, but not expected

Autofire was a nice touch for a side scrolling shooter. However, I'd prefer more variety in powerups, or at least for powerups to only disappear at the bottom of the screen. Bouncing powerups are hard to follow.


People find this review helpful!

RyxysRyxys

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

The idea is there it just needs work

The graphics are reasonable, but most of the time they hinder the game play as some of the object that kill you blend in with the background which is blurry enough as it is. Then to make things even better you have one gun that can barely do anything on some levels and is perfect for others. There is only one upgrade and it does not last long enough to make me want to get it because i often die getting it and without it i die anyway because the gun is not powerful enough after some time.
If you can find a way to fix these things and tweak the music a little bit as there is little variety after playing for a bit then this could be a fun game.



LordJagLordJag

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

uninteresting

One upgrade... and it goes away in a little while. That's not good. You should have more upgrades and allow them to stack if they're only going to last 10-20 seconds.. .

You need to stop spawning new enemies right on top of the guy too.

I see no reason to try for a high score.