Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 14, 2010 | 4:51 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place May 15, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 18, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

AWESOME 1.1 PATCH (once the admins approve):
* Added a slight delay to prevent wrong-perk-picking.
* Added persistent auto-save
* Added Y to dash left with for German keyboards.
* Added N to disable/enable meteorites/drills/explosi on.
* Improved performance.
* Survival mode now goes on forever.
* Fixed Pheonix Furry god-mode bug.
* Fixed meteroites not working after loading a game.
* Fixed a few grammar and spelling errors.
* Fixed a handful of crashes and freezes.

FEATURES:
* 7 unique weapons, each with 5 distinct level upgrades (maybe even 6?!).
* 7 sets of helmets & armour, allowing you to mix & match.
* 7 unique gadgets, each with their pros and cons.
* 60 different perks to choose from, each time you level-up, up to level 30, for a total of 28 perks (maybe even all 60?!).
* A branching map with 25 different battle-spots, some optional, some required! (maybe even 26?!).
* An unique challenge for each battle-spot, each with an additional perk reward (over 80 perks in total now).
* 18 achievements related to Story Mode and 6 achievements for Survival Mode (you do the math).
* Saving, loading and performance options.
* A bloody jump-button! Your welcome :-)

REGARDING MEDALS:
I really wanted to implement the NG medal system, but it just didn't happen, sorry.

ACTUAL COMMENTARY:
Finally! The game itself has been ready for a few months and now it's finally out! It bears a very close resemblance to my 2 last projects: Attack of the Ubermothers, but mostly Madness Deathwish 2. If you've played Madness Deathwish 2, then you'll be pleased with the amounts of references and especially the ending is going to make you feel good on the inside.

I like to think that this is going to be the final Death Wish (even though I just learned how to spell the title correctly), but it's just so much damn fun to make. All except for the drawing/graphic part. I enjoy drawing small things, but scale it up and I lose interest pretty fast. The project was mostly kept on hold, due to my lack of interest in drawing.

If the game pulls you in for more than 10 minutes (took me over an hour to speed-run the damn thing!), then for the love of gaming, tell me what to improve on ^^

Thank you to all the people who made wish-lists for a Madness Deathwish 2 sequel. Here it is! Enjoy.

Reviews


ay3590ay3590

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 3, 2010

Tips

Don't buy : anti freezer (the most expensive weapon) health transmeter (gadget)


People find this review helpful!

drackmoredrackmore

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 30, 2010

need moar weapons

needs moar everything other than that this game is epic.
also i felt that i wasn't getting what i paid for when using the flame thrower
the shot gun and quick sliver were the best to me.


People find this review helpful!

COOL247COOL247

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2010

nice

hope to see a sequel for the beloved aim tool!

oh and btw eskoner allyou have to do is right click hit play to start
whats going to be the next game?



VelvetDarkRocksVelvetDarkRocks

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 23, 2010

A straightfoward and simplistic game.

Enjoyable in its simplicity. I spent hours playing this, and though the graphics weren't particularly amazing and the soundtrack got repetetive, it was still a pleasure to play through. For the first half.

The formula was simple. Shoot, reload, move and jump when necessary. A healthy variety of enemies kept this enjoyable for the first half of the game, but it got stale towards the end. The enemies only varied slightly and provided no great challenge once the character had maxed out a weapon and chosen some useful skills. There was nothing further to gain from the game except completing challenges, which was mildly interesting (given how long I had invested already) but stupid hard for some of them. Not impossible, but not worth the time or effort to gain the minimal rewards. Speaking of rewards, I liked the medal system. I think more could have been added to the game if achieving a medal gave rewards in-game, like bonus damage or extra-long magazines for weapons. Newgrounds medals would have made attaining achievements MUCH more appealing.

I really appreciate the expansive variety of skills to choose from. They shaped the style of gameplay in significant ways, allowing the player to, in a sense, play a different game every time.

Problematically, there wasn't need for any other weapon than the magnum. Perhaps my gaming experience was devalued by the narrow lense of artillery, but I didn't find a need to try anything else. The double bouncing, homing bullets did hundreds of damage per second. The only reason I kept playing after I had passed the game was to see what bonuses the other weapons had, but the prospect of levelling them ALL up wasn't really enough motivation for me to bother.

Amusing humour to keep things interesting, depending on the events taking place in the game. I appreciated the many references to pop culture you made, especially The Matrix. I too am a great fan.

A few glitches include the final level's Agent Smith's not being able to quite make it onto screen. Some of them would continue walking at the edge but not make it onto the part of the level where they would open fire, so they were just cannon fodder in that sense.
The direction of the homing bullets seemed to change whenever a new enemy appeared on screen, leaving the other it was formerly targetting on low health but still doing full damage.

One suggestion I could make is give enemies a healthbar or some kind of indicator to let you know how close you are to finishing them off.
Also, there's no way I know of to turn off the cheats to continue getting challenges, so that was kind of a bummer.

All up, a good game but with many limitations. Enjoyable on a surface level, but unsustainable as a longer game with several flaws and limited replay value. Good job.

~VelvetDarkRocks~


People find this review helpful!
Arkuni responds:

Awesome review! Please come back when I release my next game :)


Genzonnightmare2323Genzonnightmare2323

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

Awesome

Nothing new Level 3got my intrest quick i really liked it ^^