Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


PhyroPhantomPhyroPhantom

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 6, 2010

Very Nice 3D Work

Wow, this was really something... the 3D animation was so fluid, and the models looked really great. It was pretty amusing too, especially Barney's laser beam. XD The special effects and camera work were really good, and I like how much you managed to fit in your time limit.

Only thing I could really suggest for improvement is that the Shining Finger attack seemed to move a little slowly... I think more movement, and maybe a bigger emphasis on the hit would have made it look a little more epic. Other than that though, this is really great, and I think you definitely should try 3D animation again sometime. XD


People find this review helpful!

sonic33saintsonic33saint

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2010

O!!!!!!!!!!!!M!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!G!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wow!Barney got pwned!Lol!If it was 0-INF I would vote INF!The graphix are awsome!The voices were awsome!What else can I say!Oh right*drum roll*(10 sec)U are awsome!


People find this review helpful!

dj300gdj300g

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2010

Nice!!!

Fucking Owned!!! :D


People find this review helpful!

farizluqmanfarizluqman

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2010

WHY IT IS TO SHORT???

nah, that short makes me run out of the balcony for the best flash you've sent here :-)


People find this review helpful!

ArtKid20ArtKid20

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 1, 2010

wow

its hard to use 3D. my brother tryed it and he couldnt even make anythin better than a few boxes. cause all he made was a nintendo wii


People find this review helpful!