Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


KayogonKayogon

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 12, 2010

Three Words....

I LOVE GUNDAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ( especially Burning Gundam!!!! XD ) (( I have Dynasty Warriors Gundam and I play Domons' story all the time!!! XD XD XD ))



XxDanteDemonxXXxDanteDemonxX

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 5, 2010

YEA GOD GUNDAM ROCKS DUDE!!!!!

MEN I HATE BARNEY ALL MY LOVE AND I LIKE THE GUDAMS A TEN FOR THISS JEJEJE "GOD FINGER" "TENKYOKEN" IT WAS MORE EPIC IF YOU PUT DE G_GUNDAM TO DO THE "SEKI HA TENKIOKEN"



taizentaizen

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 29, 2010

O.O

Oh My God you're awesome! The 3D is detailed, the animation flows, and the ending is great. 10 Stars.



vjon8vjon8

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 29, 2010

gundam

gundam rules and cool animation



KietaKieta

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2010

Yeh, gundams are great!

It's good to see gundams on newgrounds, you did an exellent job with the 3D, and really looks like a battle scene in Super Robot Wars, which is great. Would be awesome if it was Evagelion pwning Barney. Just imagine what he would do.