Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


urban-pyramidurban-pyramid

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 10, 2010

damn

Barney fired his Laser
(o ) ( o)
______
/ ___/________________
l /
l \___________________
\______\



IdothisformedalsIdothisformedals

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 10, 2010

Hah.

I loved the graphics and loved the lazer.



itsKrisitsKris

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 10, 2010

Lol, that was pretty sick

Gundam really kicked Barney's ass, I would've thought he'd put up more of a fight :( It was an epic battle nonetheless. I know nothing of 3D animation, but the characters (Barney more noticeably) had a bit of a stiff walk. Is it difficult to fix that? Just curious. 10/10 for awesomeness, loved Barney's random blast of love :D


People find this review helpful!

SilentCobraSilentCobra

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 10, 2010

I got a better idea

How about you do one with that annoying yellow sidekick of his and Wing Zero? Seriously think about it, double barrel beam cannon against that lazy yellow dino. That will also be extremely satisfying.

Excellent rendering all around. I couldn't do this even if my life depended on it or if I knew how to do it. This is pure epic win in every sense of the phrase. I really hope you do more of these.

You really need to do one with Wing Zero in it in my opinion. That nwould be so friggin' awesome!


People find this review helpful!

OcereOcere

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 10, 2010

Barney is going down... Again...

It looks awesome. I just wish it didn't revolve around the single worst attack in the gundam universe. I've done a bit of 3D, but certainly nothing that compares to all this. It must have taken forever.