Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


qesaranqesaran

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

We love you too

I really hate Barney... thanks for showing him his proper place!

The Gundam looked excellent. And the animation was really smooth. The sounds were nice.
However I did not liked the part, when the Gundam hits Barney. I couldn't figure it out, that the Gundam was gripping Barney's stomach, or it was a punch through the skin.



KumuffinKumuffin

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

EPIC SUPER SPECIAL AWESOME CAKE

That. Was. The. Most. Epic. Thing. Ever.
YOU DESERVE SOME EPIC SUPER SPECIAL AWESOME CAKE. With Icing ^-^



FightingSeraphFightingSeraph

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

3D modeled excellence!

Chakra-X, for your first 3D cartoon, this is much better than most people's attempts at a complete one. Of course, I tried modeling in GMax, but I didn't like it very much. With that out of the way, on with the review...

Graphically speaking, this is better than most 3D flash movies where it's either good models ruined by bad animation (Battle for the Portal) or the other way around (Rick's Adventure 171-Symphony Battle). This had both great models and the animation was up to par with those models. Plus, I like how you included the special attack for the Burning Gundam. Keep in mind that I have never seen a Gundam episode ever, although I did see a few snippets on YouTube. Speaking of which, why is it that there is always some dumbass who says that video files don't belong here? Truth is, I think video submissions should be treated the same way as regular Flash entries. As for the sound, excellent choice of music, and I also like how you used Barney and Mark Gatha soundbytes. I think that time you spent on personal projects has paid off. Why? Because I found this to be pretty damned funny!

What I do like:
-Great models and animation
-Fitting sound
-Funny

What I don't like:
-People will complain about the length, but screw what they think.

Overall: How would you like a ten for this?


People find this review helpful!
Chakra-X responds:

Thank you very much sir! I have not seen those flashes in awhile so I would like to take a look at them. I did have fun building the Gundam and Barney, but my professor told me there a lot more good modelers than good 3D animators out there, so I really wanted to make that look good. THANK you for appreciating what I did to try to replicate the greatness of the Burning Gundam. I understand this is a flash-based site, but flash and video have been blending together ever since YouTube came around. It's not like it was live action.

Also, the original requirements for the project were to be 15-30 seconds long, so in that context my animation of *long*!

Thank you for this review!


megalionmegalion

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

10/10 5/5

10/10 5/5 just because of barney's laser
:))))))



Aran551Aran551

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

Nice job

Well, I'm not gonna give you full stars, because the animation was a bit short, and I kinda expected more of a fight then him just using his punch. The models were great, and the animation was good! I really enjoyed Barny getting PAWN'D my by favrote Gundam, Domon. It was simple, but it was great, good luck on other videos, I'm looking forward for more.


People find this review helpful!