Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


ScaryHarpyLadyScaryHarpyLady

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

loved it

I thought it was funny, Good work.



VidGameDudeVidGameDude

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

Charkra...a 3d animator?....unheard of...

it was funny to some sort of degree and i wouldnt blame you for it being short.
as one 3d animator to another(i havent submitted yet...but regardless) it was of above average quality.

i was hoping one day to make a 3D collab to bring out the 3D animators from hiding in Newgrounds and maybe you'd like to join it some day?

well anyway twas a nice short.

l8s



narutocrazy200narutocrazy200

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

AWESOME

just what what i expected from you chakra only i wish it wasnt so short but eh..
what can you do 3Ds a long and hard practice


People find this review helpful!

BeefJuiceBeefJuice

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

Too short

This flash is awesome but far too short.



qesaranqesaran

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2010

We love you too

I really hate Barney... thanks for showing him his proper place!

The Gundam looked excellent. And the animation was really smooth. The sounds were nice.
However I did not liked the part, when the Gundam hits Barney. I couldn't figure it out, that the Gundam was gripping Barney's stomach, or it was a punch through the skin.