Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


thmedalmanthmedalman

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

>_>

if little kids saw tis theys would cry but awesome job


People find this review helpful!

MADD415MADD415

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

yea...

So anyway, that was fucking amazing.



waffle243waffle243

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

Jerky animation, but overall good.

It's not often we see a 3d animation on newgrounds, that's actually good. Work on the fluidness of the movements. It's not the movements itself, however, that you need work on. It's the ends of the movements. It stops to suddenly, without any sort of recoil. Add a bit more natural looking recoil to the ends of movements, and the animation would not seem as stiff, and would be nearly flawless.


Chakra-X responds:

Really, thank you for the input. I read reviews that call it "robotic" when I tried to be careful to make it look natural, so thank you for telling me specific points to work on.


HeThinkzLikeNoOthErHeThinkzLikeNoOthEr

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

i wish is was longer...funny tho!!

I love RAAAWWWRRR....fuckin genius!!



NYbossman82NYbossman82

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2010

WOW

FUCKING GREAT WORK MAN