Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


farizluqmanfarizluqman

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2010

WHY IT IS TO SHORT???

nah, that short makes me run out of the balcony for the best flash you've sent here :-)


People find this review helpful!

gunszilla11gunszilla11

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 22, 2010

holy

great job bro! burning fingers!


People find this review helpful!

DarkstrategyDarkstrategy

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2010

Awesome.

Having attempted to use Maya in an old high school digital video class i can truly understand the amount of work going into this. Impressive stuff. I remember my own attempts in it and holy bejesus was it confusing even with tutorials considering the teacher had no idea how it worked.

Cool stuff.


People find this review helpful!

RapTEKRapTEK

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2010

God Gundam ftw :P

It was nice, the animation was pretty sweet in what you could do in flash. Keep up the good work. The syncing could do with some work. Too bad you didnt have time to expand on this otherwise it could be a godzilla vs ghidora thing.


People find this review helpful!

Hakuru15Hakuru15

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2010

AWSOME!

SHINING!!! FINGER!!!!