Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 6, 2010 | 5:39 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 11, 2010
  • Daily Feature May 7, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Protect your gems from being stolen by "good" heroes in this tower defense game. Overlord, you have all the power of orcs, undead and demons.

Instructions

Use mouse (hold SHIFT to build multiple towers or cast multiple spells).
The game has a bult-in tutorial.
Try to annihilate the enemies before they grab a gem, but even if they do, you'll have a chance to annihilate them on their way back and you'll save the gem.

Version 1.10:
Cursed Treasure with updated graphics and 30 levels is now available on iPad!
http://itunes.apple.com/u s/app/cursed-treasure-hd/
id483297497?ls=1&mt=8

Hotfix 1.09.002:
- Added missing "%" symbols in descriptions of the Bounty Hunting and the Scorching Treasure skills

Vesrion 1.09:
- Fixed bug: ~30% loss of mana regeneration rate when the "Attack" button is clicked

Version 1.08:

New features:
- Hotkeys added (see built-in hints, 1,2,3 - towers, Q,W,E - spells, SPACE - start attack, F - toggle high speed on/off)
- Sound effects and music can be switched on/off separately

Balance changes:
- Assasin's "Dancing Blade" ability (50% chance of avoiding damage) is replaced by the "Mystic Blade" ability (diminishes damage by 30-90%)
- Recharge rate of Ghost Crypts is increased to 2 seconds
- Recharge rate of Banshee Crypt is increased to 1.5 seconds
- Ballista Dens and Catatult Den missiles speed is increased

Bug fixes:
- "grayed out Attack button and neverending mission" bug is fixed.
- Savegame system is changed. We can't guarantee that the bug stalling the game on the choose profile screen ("Level 999" bug) is fully fixed, but at least you will see "The save data is corrupted" message and will be able to play the game anyway.

+ many small changes and fixes

Reviews


Mister52Mister52

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 18, 2010

Niggles and Narks

I like this game a lot but a couple of things bother me. Like so many people have said the ninjas, it's probably me using a bad set up but half the time the levels don't seem long enough for them to turn visible again. The assassins too, I don't mind that they have a 50% percent dodge chance to missile damage (which I think is what their description says) but what does bother me is that flaming balls that rain down from the sky are included in this.

It would be nice to if there was hotkeys, I don't know about anyone else but I lost 'Brilliant' status because I couldn't get to a spell button in time and that is obscenely annoying. Nothing else springs to mind as it is a very good game it was just really little things.


People find this review helpful!

psicho23psicho23

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 18, 2010

Dangerously addictive, but worth playing.

Managed to get all brilliants on level 21. I think it should be possible to get it even earlier, but Ninja boss on 14...

Anyway, to add to everyone else's tips:

As in any tower defense, clever combinations will quickly win levels. Crypts are wonderful supports due to freeze and fear (blaze and poison cloud are fairly bleh), but if they don't wipe out the enemy in one hit, they look fairly silly as the enemies wander past. Ballistas are of poor accuracy, but freeze an enemy and they're sitting ducks. Burning temples look cool and work wonders, but are really slow - try setting up chilling crypts to scare enemies back up into them. The demon towers have the most power, but need to be supported due to their poor range. The orc towers are probably the least flexible, but the splash damage, decent range and good rate of the ballista towers are worth waiting around for.

The basic principle is - establish only a few towers (maximum of 8 per level) of different types, start from the gems and work your way outwards, and start upgrading from the gems outwards again, keeping an eye on your mana. Too little mana will render you vulnerable to insufficient meteors against ninjas or frenzies against assassins, too much mana will be wasted and should be cut awayed into gold. Don't think you need to build before each wave as enemies randomize where in the maze they come in from. Don't bother with the "final form" of any of the towers - with the exception of fear crypts, the final forms turn up too late in the levels to be that useful. Upgrade chilling crypts first as these will maximise the effect of all the other towers, as enemies will be kept busy running backwards - this will incidentally increase the experience other towers receive.

Upgrades: Try to get freeze and max fear as quickly as possible. Cut away upgrades will give you a way to convert mana to gold, which is crucial for upgrading your towers later in levels.

And to repeat all the ninja boss techniques: Max meteor, max mana. Banshee crypts won't work as the smoke bomb activates on the first hit. You need to hit them hard as soon as they turn up with hellfires, fear crypts and ballistas for lots of splash damage and immediate damage, and then meteor the rest out of them. If you are very lucky they will fear as soon as they turn up. Unfortunately there really is a luck factor and you may have to replay a level a few times to get through. To guarantee death, upgrade "adoration", and you can build a few temples after the dread level 14 boss turns up to get enough mana for 6 meteor strikes.

Okay, that's it. I'm off to reclaim what's left of my life. Do not make another, life is too short for me to play another one of these...


People find this review helpful!

caulfieldcaulfield

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 17, 2010

Ninjas and unpredictability

Everyone is complaining about the ninjas, and I wanted to expand upon that criticism. The ninja boss on level 12 (and maybe some other levels) seems to grab the gem before the invisibility wears off. For people trying for "Brilliant" that gets annoying.

Also, there is a definite luck factor when a stage has ninjas paired with any other enemy at the same time. Temples and dens are great for forcing early invisibility, but they sometimes they lock onto the wrong targets. Stage 13 is a good example of this. Even if I line the left side of the entrance with dens and build some crypts on the right side, a ninja can still sneak by if no towers lock on it soon enough because they are all distracted by other enemies.

The above has happened to me more than once and caused me to restart a level for a "Brilliant" rating with the exact same strategy and layout achieving success randomly due to better luck. This is still a GREAT game, but if you could tweak both of these things (or introduce something to overcome them), it would be just about perfect, and less frustrating.


People find this review helpful!

locke-123locke-123

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 16, 2010

This is one amazing TD game

Actually forces people to pay attention for the 3 sec ninja boss. Awesome game.



draikonidraikoni

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2010

Magnificent

I have to say i LOVE this game, i have spend hours and hours playing this game, and there is but one reason why i cant give it a 10, and that is the ninja's i dont mind them as normal mobs, there they are perfect since your forced to spread out the power, and also conserving your mana, if u wonna use the meteor skill. FX i tried just using the cut forest skill to get money and found myself in a pickle sometimes, where if the ninja's hadn't been there it would be no problem.
But as i said the only problem with them is the bosses, i have tried quite hard to find a way to gain brilliant at the levels where the last boss is a ninja and i cant find it, Ofc i tried hitting it as fast as possible, but it would be unhitable untill it actually reaches your gem making it impossible to defeat it, i thought of using the meteor skill, but because of its speed its simple not possible.
So to summarize, if you look away from the ninja boss, this is by far THE greatest TD game i have ever tried.


People find this review helpful!