Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 28, 2010 | 10:25 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick May 5, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 30, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place May 5, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Shawnee Jenkins' parents eat people and live in the cellar, but that's okay. They're still Mom and Dad.

Keep up with the latest Skary news, videos and artwork at http://skary.net
Twitter @katytowell
or Facebook at facebook.com/childrinrska ry

Reviews


EveretttEverettt

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 8, 2010

wonderful

the title says it all



dragon44dragon44

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 8, 2010

great

AWESOME STORY.... nice gift the parents left her dauther with.... i wish my parents could turn me into a vampire jejeje
5/5 10/10


People find this review helpful!

TragediesTragedies

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 8, 2010

I very much agree with Pipboy.

Brilliant story, and very entrapping. From the ending I could make out the subtle, yet very effective, hint that she was a vampire and the relation of mama's kiss being a bite. Although after the humming of the song I took my headphones off and scrolled down, then decided to scroll back up and see the girl smiling. No offence, but that ruined it a bit and made it seem slightly.. 'simple' in a way. All in all, brilliant job, besides the ending.



eddybreezyeddybreezy

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 8, 2010

AWESOME!

I literally couldn't stop watching. You are very good at what you do :)
Amazing story!



Pipboy131Pipboy131

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 8, 2010

I always get a kick out of your stories

First off, huge kudos to making a brand new girl character for this story. The one with the black eyes is creepy cute, but she was getting kinda repetitive.

Excellent narration and story, the relaxed southern belle vocals were a great touch. A lot of the things you added that were minor details really shined for some reason, like how she enjoys milkshakes and the note her mom made her years ago she still packs in her backpack. Everything just felt "right" about the situation, minus the bad luck involved with the parents.

My only issue is, up until the very end the pacing and everything were spot on. Even up to the point where she thought her mother gave her a kiss was great as it's just enough of a hint to get that she was bitten and foreshadow that now she's a vampire too.

But then her parents just leave.
And die.

The end.

And then the girl smiles at the very end. What?

Everything but the extreme ending of this movie was great, but it did leave a bit of a confused/sour taste in my mouth at the sudden changes out of nowhere with no real explanation. They stayed in the house because that was their original home, they turned into vampires and now it's their lair underground and out of the sun. That works, that's fine. But then they just up and decide to leave? Having one last shred of humanity and wishing to protect their daughter was never mentioned nor hinted at, but I can make the leap and assume that's what happened, only they would not have just up and offed themselves immediately after.

The girl dying from a shove against the wall was a bit iffy to say the least, but I get the constraints of a short story. The problem is its placement at the already mucked up ending made it stand out even more.

Great story, great narration, great animation, great choice of words, but the ending seemed rushed.


People find this review helpful!