Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


DemoniusX03DemoniusX03

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 15, 2010

Truly a good idea.

I would have rated this game higher but the jumping feels "off" to me with link and simon. The water levels need to be recoded and the enemies should take the amount of hits the game is asking to kill them. Almost perfect.



orchydorkyorchydorky

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 30, 2010

Cool

A job well done, just one thing. I like how you tried to put a spin of your own on it, but it wasn't enough of a spin for me. A lot of people have made Super Mario games. No doubt this is among the superior ones, though :)


People find this review helpful!

Gogo152Gogo152

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 6, 2010

Pretty Decent.

I enjoyed it for a while. It was a clever idea, but I feel the characters don't really get given any leg-room for their abilities. For example, Mega Man was REALLY fun to play as through stage 1 and such, but because i'm used to playing with a health bar for mega man, dying in one hit is pretty crap. Plus the way he jumps and runs doesn't suit a mario game, but this is a problem for a few characters, such as Simon and the like. It was fun, but 8-2 drove me INSANE. As Mega Man that intro is nearly impossible, in fact ANY level with Lakitu's in was barely possible. Liked the fact that the music matched the game though, very nice touch! =]!

All in all, great idea, but some characters weren't built for SMB. So either change them, change the stages for them, or just replace them altogether. Or don't listen to me, you're the flash expert, i could barely make a 5 second stick movie! =]



GrandmasterchaotixGrandmasterchaotix

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 5, 2011

isint it stealing?

while yes the game is great I can only wonder if the game should be cosidered yours.the thing is that this is not your game you simply took someone elses work(nintendo's) and modified it.Imagine if I made a port of street fighter 2 and added an extra character would that be unfair since I didnt make it?Im just saying that this is a nearly stolen game while we all love it its unfair that you just slightly modified a game and called it yours even if modifying the levels for diffrent characters is a nice touch.Next time make something new.



PsychofigPsychofig

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Decent.

The concept here is pretty cool. Playing as different 8bit characters is really fun, but this game has a few flaws preventing it from being too great.

First of all, I applaud you on re-creating all the original Mario levels. That in itself takes a long, long time, I would know, I've been working on a game since February 2009 and I expect to release it soon, level design is a long, hard process. You should check out my game when it comes out too :P.

The problem is with the controls. It feels a bit sticky, there is a bit of delay. That I can understand, not your fault, actionscript. But at times there are things that could have been fixed. Sometimes the jump just won't respond when I press it, which is annoying.

Also, characters like Samus just feel horrible in the levels. I understand you want to keep the original mechanics of each game intact, but there is a limit when a character is harder to play and takes longer to complete a level with. There is no need for that, some things can be substituted.

The graphics are all very nice, I take it you made some sprites for characters as I have yet to see them in the actual games. As much as this is a homage to classic games, standards are a bit different now and some things are desired. For instance, it would have been nice to offer some sort of story to compel the player. Yes, Mario has no story, but maybe the story can change for different characters like Samus and Link.

My main problem is that you could have gone a bit beyond the normal and expanded on your original idea. I respect the time and effort you put into this though, it is a pretty fun game and it has received some pretty rave reviews so far. I just think it could have been more and that some opportunities were missed here.


explodingRabbit responds:

My vision goes beyond this but what one person can do in a limited amount of time is limited. I've never experienced the control delay so I don't know what's causing it. Are you playing with a gamepad? That helps a lot. I appreciate you taking the time to write some your comments. I hope you enjoy the game for what it is.