Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


JVCarvalhoJVCarvalho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Amazing

+5 points for the concept and innovation
+2 points for the soundtrack
+3 points for the characters
- 1 point for when you jump you dont have too much control in the air(like some games that you slide in the ground when you stop moving),i died for that several times

Although its an awesome game


explodingRabbit responds:

The amount of control you have depends on which character you are. It matches the games that the character comes from.


LokiKunLokiKun

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

1 of thee best games i will play in my lifetime.

you are a true video gaming god for this and shall go down as such. 5/5 10/10


explodingRabbit responds:

Thank you. I have played many video games and tried to put everything I learned into making one.


Mario2k6Mario2k6

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

A Great Game

This is a very good game. I like how you were able to put all of these characters different Gameplay styles to such a simple game such as Super Mario Bros. If there is one thing I would add to this game was that the individual characters all have their individual life bars. It would add more depth to the game for me.


explodingRabbit responds:

I wanted to bring the characters into the Super Mario Bros world and have them follow the same rules that Mario does. But thanks for the tip.


fleetfoxfleetfox

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Fun!

Every character handles great and brings their own style. Good job!



PsychofigPsychofig

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Decent.

The concept here is pretty cool. Playing as different 8bit characters is really fun, but this game has a few flaws preventing it from being too great.

First of all, I applaud you on re-creating all the original Mario levels. That in itself takes a long, long time, I would know, I've been working on a game since February 2009 and I expect to release it soon, level design is a long, hard process. You should check out my game when it comes out too :P.

The problem is with the controls. It feels a bit sticky, there is a bit of delay. That I can understand, not your fault, actionscript. But at times there are things that could have been fixed. Sometimes the jump just won't respond when I press it, which is annoying.

Also, characters like Samus just feel horrible in the levels. I understand you want to keep the original mechanics of each game intact, but there is a limit when a character is harder to play and takes longer to complete a level with. There is no need for that, some things can be substituted.

The graphics are all very nice, I take it you made some sprites for characters as I have yet to see them in the actual games. As much as this is a homage to classic games, standards are a bit different now and some things are desired. For instance, it would have been nice to offer some sort of story to compel the player. Yes, Mario has no story, but maybe the story can change for different characters like Samus and Link.

My main problem is that you could have gone a bit beyond the normal and expanded on your original idea. I respect the time and effort you put into this though, it is a pretty fun game and it has received some pretty rave reviews so far. I just think it could have been more and that some opportunities were missed here.


explodingRabbit responds:

My vision goes beyond this but what one person can do in a limited amount of time is limited. I've never experienced the control delay so I don't know what's causing it. Are you playing with a gamepad? That helps a lot. I appreciate you taking the time to write some your comments. I hope you enjoy the game for what it is.