Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


Awesomeone4294Awesomeone4294

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

amazing.

dude this is just un-fukin believable. i cant believe how well this game is programed. its amazing. one small gripe i hav is that there should b more characters but this doesnt rlly matter cuz the game is so good. wat would be interesting for a sequel though would be having the ability to play in each characters game, or at least another characters game. like zelda crossover, or contra crossover or mega man crossover. u get the idea. great job man. i commend u. its very rare that u see any flash game with this much quality. nice job.

on a side note... samus's controls kinda felt clunky. but they still worked well.


People find this review helpful!

LambtacoLambtaco

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Great fun.

Two questions though.
1. Why didn't you use the Zelda II sprite for link. You seemed to have used the moves and physics from Zelda II, but the sprite from the original Zelda.
2. Why can the screen scroll to the left? Even when you play as Mario?

Really well made. Attention to detail is great. Megaman felt like he was too slow, but maybe I'm imagining things.

If you ever wanted to add more guys I'd recommend Ryu from Ninja Gaiden.


People find this review helpful!
explodingRabbit responds:

Wow, you have amazing attention to detail. You are correct, Link's movements and physics are from Zelda 2. I originally used the Zelda 2 sprite and used only the small link Sprite for his first power state (before you get a mushroom). But I found that it was much more fun being little Link, and it made me not want to get a mushroom because I didn't want to be big Link. So I kept him little because he's more fun and it helps to differentiate him from the other characters. And it's just my own opinion, but I think the sprites for Zelda 2 Link are kind of ugly.

Making the screen scroll to the left was just my own choice. I don't like in games when I miss something and can't go back, so I changed it. I think it makes the game more fun, but I'm sure some people disagree.

I was going to have 9 characters originally, and Ryu was one of them, but I decided to just do 6 because the game was already a significant amount of work. Perhaps he will be in an expanded version or future game now that I already have the engine created.

Thank you for the questions. :)


Creason47Creason47

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Seriously Fun

I really enjoyed being able to run around the Mushroom Kingdom as Link!


People find this review helpful!

KyleRobertsKyleRoberts

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Two Words.

Fucking Brilliant.


People find this review helpful!

cyberninja771cyberninja771

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

The Master Rater

I can't believe this. I literally can't believe this. I mean, when I was on the front page and I saw the title for your game and the blue bordering saying it was great and all, I was thinking, "what, really? what's so special, it's a mario game, it's been done to death." YOU HAVE CHANGED MY MIND! You sir have made a fantastic game. One that gives a feeling of nostalgia for the oldtime players, and for new gamers, or ones that were born just after those days, a whole new challenge. I tried as all the players, and all of them can take some time to master. I think I"m good as Mega Man though, he seems the most versatile in my opinion. But that might just be my opinion. Anyways man, if this is your first game, I think this is something worthy of praise. It's brilliant. I didn'tsee lag, and the controls are awesome and simple. You did it man. Good introduction, showing all the characters walk on, and the music. Oh the memories. And a report a bug button. Come on, who doesn't like that. Man, I think this might be one of the longest review I've written. Probably because this deserves it. If you continue to make games like this, you could be a great game designer. Because like other people are saying, I am literally having a harder time believing this is a crossover. GOOD LUCK TO YOU SIR, AND I SAY KEEP GOING! It's what you seem to be good at.


People find this review helpful!
explodingRabbit responds:

Actually, my expertise is filmmaking. But I think I'll make more games now because I really enjoyed this experience, and I'm glad others like my game.