Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


thescrewdriverthescrewdriver

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

thanks

this is one of those things i used to think about as a kid.."what if megaman was in super mario bros!...he would be way better then mario..."

well anyways you made a fantasy from long ago come true, but i have to take back what i said about mario. the most interesting part of the game (besides blowing everything away with spread shot) was comparing each characters strengths and weaknesses to mario. trying to get megaman past the revolving fire lines in lvl 1-4 made me start wishing for marios speed and agility.

as for the gameplay itself- everything felt as it should be with character control-

nicely done, thanks for making this game



JTmovieJTmovie

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Godly

Would have been perfect but...... I didnt like the controls...oh wait you can change them! Perfect!


People find this review helpful!

zlxq3000zlxq3000

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Excellent concept, but...

Something of this calibur is simply amazing. The fact that you went and made this at all is by itself phenomenal; recreating the entire Mushroom Kingdom is enough of a feat, but then coding six somewhat different characters to play through it? Truly a great idea.

However, the game itself is quite flawed. I've seen it mentioned that some of the characters have low jumps. I encountered this with Simon, with whom I only played once, then gave up; after all, if his standard jump can't clear a low pipe in a game that's supposed to be all about jumping, then he shouldn't be included. I understand the idea is to have him use the double-jump, but there are times when that is really difficult to pull off.

The biggest gripe I have, however, is the powerups. Aside from Mario, they do NOTHING but provide your character with another hit or two before they are killed. I played mostly as Megaman, probably because the games he is in are so similar to those of Mario. I'm willing to agree to enemies taking a few hits to kill with the normal Mega Buster; giving one-shot kills with a primary projectile weapon would make the game all too easy. Might as well give Mario fireballs right off the bat if you're gonna do that. However, when he powers up, the impact of his hits seem... less than rewarding. I got pretty stuck on Map 4-1, and while there, I noticed that the Spikies seemed to take four hits to kill normally, but three to kill with the charged Mega Buster. Alright, that's fine. But then I got the Fire Flower... STILL three hits to kill a Spiky. I'd think that, at one's most powerful, regardless of who they are, if they're in a Mario game and have the strongest power-up in the game, everything should be killed in one hit. Having me launch three of my strongest attacks to kill an enemy when my second-strongest attack could do the same thing is ludicrous.

Also, Lakitu's a bitch to kill. Not really a valid point, just an opinion; it felt like I shot him, like, 9 times as the Contra guy and he would not go down.

Overall, it seems like you did a good job on everything except the powerups. It's probably easily fixable, so if you develop a version 2 of this game, I hope that that gets on the list of things to improve.


People find this review helpful!

DCxMagusDCxMagus

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Great game but some annonying bugs

Overall really fun game and a great idea but there were some problems with it.

Some of the characters can never head bump blocks no matter what form they are in.(samus, simon)

Mega man disappears if you are using a chraged firpower buster on the warp zone from 4-2

When you switch characters you lose all your power ups but they stay on whatever character you got them all so I'm not sure if thats by design or a bug.

The lack of a run speed on most the characters is a hinderance because of the sped up time.

but all those are minor things overall a good spin on an old classic



KilawilaKilawila

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Fantastic

Everything was well done, thought out, and refined. Judging by the quality and the addition of being able to use the gamepad this is going to go mega-viral this week and by the end of Sunday have at the very least 100,000 views so I suggest you get some ad revenue going. Also, a great addition for future versions would be to add Kirby but other than that, I can't wait to see what else you end up adding in the following months.