Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


PsychofigPsychofig

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

Decent.

The concept here is pretty cool. Playing as different 8bit characters is really fun, but this game has a few flaws preventing it from being too great.

First of all, I applaud you on re-creating all the original Mario levels. That in itself takes a long, long time, I would know, I've been working on a game since February 2009 and I expect to release it soon, level design is a long, hard process. You should check out my game when it comes out too :P.

The problem is with the controls. It feels a bit sticky, there is a bit of delay. That I can understand, not your fault, actionscript. But at times there are things that could have been fixed. Sometimes the jump just won't respond when I press it, which is annoying.

Also, characters like Samus just feel horrible in the levels. I understand you want to keep the original mechanics of each game intact, but there is a limit when a character is harder to play and takes longer to complete a level with. There is no need for that, some things can be substituted.

The graphics are all very nice, I take it you made some sprites for characters as I have yet to see them in the actual games. As much as this is a homage to classic games, standards are a bit different now and some things are desired. For instance, it would have been nice to offer some sort of story to compel the player. Yes, Mario has no story, but maybe the story can change for different characters like Samus and Link.

My main problem is that you could have gone a bit beyond the normal and expanded on your original idea. I respect the time and effort you put into this though, it is a pretty fun game and it has received some pretty rave reviews so far. I just think it could have been more and that some opportunities were missed here.


explodingRabbit responds:

My vision goes beyond this but what one person can do in a limited amount of time is limited. I've never experienced the control delay so I don't know what's causing it. Are you playing with a gamepad? That helps a lot. I appreciate you taking the time to write some your comments. I hope you enjoy the game for what it is.


RendvousRendvous

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

You had me when MegaMan walked in...

This is AWESOME! There's really no need for me to say more! What a great and fun idea! I don't think there's anything more for me to say! XD



nicksoulnicksoul

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

no talk more

its is amazing i don't talk more



Snifit9Snifit9

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

I was having a terrible day.

And then this made me nostalgiagasm. This handles really, really well and is an absolute joy to play. Cheers to you. Thanks for sharing.



jjlawliet16jjlawliet16

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

dude

..man, this is awesome! i liked mega man, specially when his firepower became fire! haha, this is awesome man...\m/