Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


megagigabowsermegagigabowser

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

awesomeness

i really like this game alot!!! Nice work, can you add in more characters?



MakakaovMakakaov

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Contra in Mario World

Awesome! I love the idea, and that you reconstructed the sounds, and the gameplay. Also the fact that upgrades stay after beating a level maes it more fun. I think that this game needs achievements.


People find this review helpful!

TheFlipEffectTheFlipEffect

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Great!

I really liked this, what a good way to relieve boredom by playing an old school game with added characters! Also being able to play it with a gamepad is really great. This is really well made and I'm glad it has made frontpage as it deserves to be!

Great work!



Matija27Matija27

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Super Mario Bros. Remake......Again!?

I've played soooo many Super Mario Bros. Remakes in my life and I've got a little bit sick of the game.
This game is the same Mario game we've played ages ago. It plays the same way, it feels the same way, which is pretty impressive when you think about it. But, as I said, playing Mario Bros. game for 1165912569261589 time is not very interesting.
Don't get me wrong. This game is great. It has up to 6 playable characters which is a great twist, but maybe you could add some stages from Mega Man series, or at least first stage of Contra.
The problem is in me. I just can't play Super Mario Bros. anymore. But as far as the game goes, it will entertain majority of people.


explodingRabbit responds:

I'd like to add more stuff later, but this is all there is for now. Sorry.


highwatermarkhighwatermark

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Great idea, questionable execution

As a hardcore gamer, there are a few issues that become problematic, especially near the end. After 8-1, it gets damn near impossible to beat any of the levels, and after 2 hours I still haven't beat 8-4.

The swimming part... you can't swim, and I'm pretty sure you HAVE to get hit by the fire stick in the middle.

Mario also can't dash over the single gaps, and the bloopers can hit you if you're on the bottom.

A lot of issues to this game (which make it damn near unbeatable). And to top it off... it keeps on freezing at important parts for a second or two, and I end up dying!

Just to note, my favorite character here is Simon Belmont, mostly for the axe and the double jump. Plus I'm a fan of pre-1997 castlevania games (specifically 4, but I'm not complaining about that).

How do you beat this game?


People find this review helpful!
explodingRabbit responds:

I have played the game like crazy and have no problem beating it. I enjoy the challenge at the end. Let me address each of your issues.

You can swim if you're Mario. Otherwise, just be careful. Samus is good because she can turn into a ball to help her avoid the firebars.

I have special code in the game that allows Mario to dash over small gaps. It's not perfect, but it should work most of the time. Perhaps over time I can improve my code.

Bloopers won't hit Mario if he's on the bottom, but they will hit other characters. I did this to make it more challenging and fun, but to still keep it the same for Mario to keep hardcore people like yourself happy.

I'm sorry that the game freezes at important parts. I hope to optimize my code in the future, but for now, it is what it is.

I'm releasing an update very soon which gives you more time on levels 8-1 and 8-3 if you're not Mario. Thanks for the comments!