Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


MetalmittensMetalmittens

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Oh dear god yes!

This is probably one of the best flash games I have played in a LONG time. PLEASE make a sequel. Pretty please?



EbithioEbithio

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Here comes a long post...

Okay, so I set myself a challenge. I would play the game, start to finish, using no warp zones (I know 'em all, bud) and getting every character to their 3rd (fire flower) form. Sounds easy.
So I got to the character select screen, and I was mildly dissapointed. No Sonic. Still, I started with Mega Man. He had much more mobility and jump height than most of the characters, coming second only to Mario. He had a nice shot, obviously the same as his own games. Took a while to beat the enemies but with a good mashing I got it done. After a mushroom, he gains his helmet and charge shot, both nice touches. After a fire flower, he gained something that looked like Fire Man's weapon, just without the ring of protection. It had a 1 hit kill charge shot, which made him one of the most powerful characters.
I then went to Link. He was a real difference from Mega, short range, weird jumping style, dodgy hitboxes on his sword. To me, he really wasn't fitting in, being from a top-down game and all. I really think you should have used his Zelda II version instead. With a mushroom, he becomes more powerful, and with a Fire flower, he gets his sword beams, though severly underpowerd to the sword itself. Link was also only 1 block high at all stages of the transformation.
I then went to Simon Belmont. Having never played a Castlevania game myself, I didn't really know what to expect. To start with, he was outmatched by a simple Goomba because his whip was weak, and he couldn't jump properly, not being able to manouver mid jump. I know this was how he was in his own games, but it really didn't work and you should have replaced him with someone else (Like Sonic!).
Next I changed to Samus. She was pretty slow but she can just spam beams because they stop the enemies dead still. Her morph ball was a nice touch, but fairly useless. You should have replaced it with some missile shots or something. Anyway, with a mushroom she turned into the Varia suit, pretty awesome, and gained the long beam, which was welcome after the short range problem she previously had. I really like how you made her Fire flower turn her into the Leotard form, with the awesome wave beam. I'm liking this.
Second to last I chose that gun guy. Never played contra, but his shoot anywhere ability made him really good. His shots became more powerful with a mushroom, nothing special, but he got the spreader with the fire flower. Combined with the aformentioned shoot anywhere ability, he's probably the best character, firepower wise.
Then I chose good old Mario. Nothing really to say. He was the best character since he's suited to his own game.
I really like what you've done here. It was an original game with some great music, too, despite Mega Man having some poor choices (all from Mega Man 2).
Congrats, you get a 9 from me. Include Sonic next time! >:(


People find this review helpful!

mastobongmastobong

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Genious!

It takes a great mind to think this up.

One of the, if not THE best game I've played here on Newgrounds.


People find this review helpful!

GetSnakeBitGetSnakeBit

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Fun and intriguing, needs a little work

Love the combination of characters and their special abilities. Also your recreation of all the original SMB maps was nice.

My only beef is with the controls, they're sluggish and hard to predict. The jump doesn't respond well when pressed within a certain time frame of the previous depression. Also the movement functions seem to be the same across each character, not to mention how slowly it takes for left to correct to the right and vice versa.

Just some things to consider. Overall I see great potential and I look forward to more work.

8/10 3/5



CybervideoCybervideo

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2010

Hard But Epic

I absolutely love this. I desperately need to get a controller so I can play this a whole lot easier.


People find this review helpful!