Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 27, 2010 | 7:17 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 28, 2010
  • Daily Feature April 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is an old version of the game. You can play the new version at http://www.explodingrabbi t.com/games/super-mario-b ros-crossover

Reviews


TheDudeGuyUltimusTheDudeGuyUltimus

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2010

!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Amazing!!



SalnaxSalnax

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2010

Just a month ago...

I first played Super Mario Crossover the day it came out. At the time, something like 400 people had played it, and it had barely emerged from judgment. As soon as I began playing, I knew I was in for something different.

So why did I wait a month to review this game? Because I needed perspective. Because games like this are too big to be played in a sitting. And because I didn't have my thoughts together. But I think I'm ready to write this.

Creating a nearly perfect emulation of Super Mario Bros, a fairly large game, is commendable in of itself. When you remember to include even the warp zones, it is obvious that you put a huge amount of effort into this project and have a thourough understanding off the game. A simple emulation would have made this game great.

However, you went a step further. You added five characters from extremely different games. And you did it splendidly. Much to my surprise, the characters are all well balanced while retaining their unique abilities. Not every character is a good fit for every stage, but then again, this held true even in the original game, where some of the characters here proved to be extremely useful.

Including music from the characters' different games was genius. It gave each level a new mood that fit the characters well. Otherwise, the graphics and sounds were virtually identical to the original game. The extreme versatility of the controls is also a nice touch.

I have not given any game a perfect 10 so far this year. To me, anything that gets a 10 has to outdo its predecessors within its genre or otherwise raise the bar. But that is exactly what Super Mario Crossover does. It raises the bar of Flash emulations of classic games, of platformers with multiple characters, and of Mario fan games. It isn't 100% perfect, with the minor glitches and the controls that go to the default every time you open the game.

You have proven your mastery of making Flash games.


People find this review helpful!

andytenshiandytenshi

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2010

awesome game

great, concept, really well done and a blast to play. I also just saw a post on break about a new version featuring ryu hayabusa. can't wait for that.

only thing I would have liked to see or hear rather is more of the music from each characters game.



ice1337ice1337

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2010

Cool but copuld use this char

Michael Jackson would make this game better if he was a char im just sayin



irunmannirunmann

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2010

Nice job! A concept I have actually contemplated

But made better than I ever imagined! :3
Every charecter had its own strenght and weaknesses which I thought was grand. Not only that, you managed to make a fun playable and replayable experiance just trying to find the best char for the situation! One thing that could have been done better though. Missiles for Samus, and other weapons for Megaman (maybe toggled by S and fired by X) Would have made it more immersive. Otherwise. Well made with the best rating I can give ;)


People find this review helpful!