Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 2, 2010 | 8:03 AM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place April 3, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hey guys! I started this project about a year ago in order to learn ActionScript 3, self teach ftw.

There's 13 campaign missions, 9 weapons, over 30 enemies, and 4 minigames.

I did all the animation / music / programming, what do you think? All reviews will be read and are greatly appreciated :)

Controls (customize these in the options):
Aim: Mouse
Fire: Left mouse button
Move: WASD
Throw Grenade: Spacebar
Switch Gun: Q
Switch Grenade: E
Pause Game: P
Weapon Hotkeys: 0-9

Remember you can set the quality to low if its laggy! (right click menu)

Sticky movement glitch
Cause: Accidentally clicked outside of flashplayer while walking
Fix: Click back inside game and press then release direction you're stuck walking in

Reviews


ErichoEricho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 14, 2010

Quite an onslaught

This was an underappreciate game I played and a very unique one. At first, I thought it was just going to be like this other game that had medals, but it was quite different. While the graphics were not flawless, it was still really fun to play. I do not quite understand how to get the upgrades, but that is my fault. It is embarassing how I was killed with that one boss not even by the boss himself, but by the little spiders it sent out. It is a pretty interesting environment and it is always fun to shoot guys up.


ZT responds:

Oh, man! Got snuffed by the spiders, huh? Don't be embarrassed, they can be tricky ;)

Upgrades are handled in the Shop, which is located in the Main Menu to the right of the Campaign button. Hope you can find it!

Thanks for playing, glad you liked it!
-ZT


didgeboy287didgeboy287

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 13, 2010

Excellent game so far

Despite the lack of graphic detail (and I read why you did that), I loved the little details like the way the menus moved and flowed easily into the game. As well I liked the number of weapons that you could also upgrade. Changing directions in the scrolling was simple but made playing seem fresh from the marsh to the badlands. Your tutorial also didn't treat me like a first time game player. Quick and easy. The controls were pretty smooth as well, using WASD to move, mouse to shoot, Q&E to swap weapons and space to throw grenades. I was a bit annoyed when new weapons became the ones I used automatically. I'd be plugging away with the automatic then suddenly needing to concentrate on firing arrows or missiles. A quick pause giving me the choice to use it or save it would be nice.

What I think the game is really missing is a defined storyline. You've got a classic D20 Modern type scenario with no real plot. I also think anyone complaining of low detail may be satisfied by some quick cut scenes between missions/stages. I also love to see in game character development like maybe dialog with someone on the chopper, or maybe you meet someone to rescue. Players could have a lot more fun with this game if it had some life to it. I understand you were using this game as a project o learn a program, but if you're looking to improve this one, then there ya go.


People find this review helpful!
ZT responds:

Plot, huh?! Blasphemy!

No, that's definitely a good idea, I'll be tackling something more story-driven in the near future.

As far as auto switching to the new weapon you picked up, I thought this would give the game more of an arcade feel. So that users would understand the different weapons without needing to first switch to them (run n' gun!). Of course this only happens if you have 0 ammo for the gun, making it so people who want to save ammo can. Auto switch option? Pfft, why didn't I think of that?

I'm glad you could appreciate the controls and tutorial.

Solid review, much appreciated, thanks for playing!
-ZT


kingrex102kingrex102

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars April 13, 2010

wth

when i go into a mission the game screen goes black wth


ZT responds:

Weird! It sounds like a hardware issue, you're the first to report such a problem...

Try switching the quality to low? Or just playing on a different system?

Hope you get a chance to play!
-ZT


Shadow-ScotsmanShadow-Scotsman

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 13, 2010

almost perfect

was a very nice little game i loved the upgrade system and the gameplay was nice aswell the only thing i didnt like was the fact that you had to buy all new ammo after each match . mabey next time consider making it a case of you upgrade the amount of ammo for each gun that you start with at the begining of each mission instead of just buying ammo but other than that one small thing i think it was great :D


ZT responds:

Oh thats a cool idea. So basically you buy the amount of ammo you START with at each round. Yeah, that could be really cool!

Thanks for playing!
-ZT


JWTTJWTT

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 13, 2010

so close!

the game is awesome , except for some art work should be added , but thats secondary , couple bugs/improvement(??) I noticed :

1. I cant seem to get to 100% , I done everything i can find in there , all upgrades , all hacks , all lvl complete (even the rotation one , did it to lvl 4 without cheats) , and of course all secret missions too , i missed something??

2. the hack "Ultimalaser" , u might want to set a limit on that , I actually get the whole screen filled up and it and it crashed my web browser , and by filled it I mean "completely" filled , there is no single white spot on the game screen

other wise good job , keep up the good work


ZT responds:

I added a feature right before I released, and its POSSIBLE I might've fudged something preventing 100% (which would suck!). Sorry if that's the case! If you've unlocked all the hacks, and completed all of the stages including the minigames, you can rest assured that the game has been completely conquered ;).

Thanks for playing!
-ZT

ps. I think the Ultimalaser hack crashing your browser is HALARIOUS! Did you try it on the zombie stage or something? hahaha