Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 28, 2010 | 12:32 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place March 29, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

It's kinda like a cross between Spore and WarCraft... maybe.

This is what happens when I don't have a job. Nice marmot, by the way. Also, for those of you that don't want to play the tutorial or just "don't get it..." here is how to play:

-Click on units to select (can drag box around to select multiple units)
-Deselect units with SPACE or the Deselect Button (bottom right)
-With unit(s) selected, click empty space to move, food unit to gather, cell pool to return food, or enemy unit to attack
-With single unit, click and drag from the Nucleobase Buttons (A, T, C, G) at the bottom of the screen into the DNA strand to edit DNA. Do this to make your cells BETTER.
-M - Split units
-Q - attack to (will move and attack along the way)
-P - create/join pool (can create new units there for free)
-X - stop actions
-1-4 - special attacks (if enabled)
-Arrows or WASD - move screen

Hover over buttons in-game to see what the hotkey is for it.

Reviews


DariusFanDariusFan

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars April 7, 2010

Good concept, flawed in the outcome.

This game held a good deal of promise and honestly, I thought the premise to be refreshingly new, to an extent.

Unfortunately, the end result created is fraught with problems and confusing gameplay mechanics that are not adequately explained, even in the tutorial. For instance, even when taking the tutorial I had problems understanding what it was trying to tell me to do when it explained how to upgrade cells. The four proteins given are scientifically accurate, sure - but the effects of them on gameplay are vague and leave many questions as to what the heck is going on.

Why does placing a protein in a spot produce different results depending on where you place it? Why is the effect sometimes entirely detrimental to the overall abilities of the cell? What do some of these increases seem pitifully small and pointless (such as upgrading gathering speed with Cytosine, which seems to only add 0.01-0.02 extra with each protein put in, if even that). And what do some of these labels even mean? ┬Ám/s? MUm per second? What?

I might have been willing to even look past this confusing aspect of gameplay and goof around for the sake of experimentation (perhaps the proteins are arranged in combos?), were it not for the other frustrating gameplay issue - auto deselection of cells. For no reason that I can discern, sometimes clicking on a spot will move a cell there or tell them to start gathering, but other times it will simply unselect the cell(s) in question with no rhyme or reason. A strategy game where you randomly lose control of your units is not one you can be very effective in.

That was the final kicker in the coffin for this imaginative but not terribly player-friendly game. Perhaps I have simply not played ir correctly - but a game where I am more frustrated and confused than entertained is not a good one, I don't think. Maybe I will come back at a later date and see if the issues have been fixed.

This shows a lot of promise.


People find this review helpful!

HELLMACHHELLMACH

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 7, 2010

wow

Consider getting a publisher for this game. With just a few extra developments (maybe symbiotic building structures, etc) Its got great potential! Its fun and scientifically accurate and it blows me away!


People find this review helpful!

hulkninjahulkninja

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 7, 2010

The game was... ;)

The game was awesome, and as i have seen written in the comment section, it is very scientifically accurate. BUT if you would like to make a sequel please make larger maps and more avaliable "buildings".

That is all.


People find this review helpful!

lightning666lightning666

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 7, 2010

Very Good

Its a very good game I want medails =)



misshankey123misshankey123

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 7, 2010

good

it was fun but only for a few minutes