Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 25, 2010 | 5:40 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice March 31, 2010
  • Daily 2nd Place March 26, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

EDIT: Increased audio quality upon request. Thanks for all of the great reviews, you guys are awesome!
EDIT: 100K views? Thanks to all of you that have watched this, and especially to those of you that have watched it ten or more times, or sang the song at school, haha. :D

In collaboration with Andrew from Songstowearpantsto.com!

Comments are appreciated! If you have a question about robots or pirates, I'll do my best to answer it.

Twitter: @lawlolawlpete
Web: www.lawlolawl.com

"Speakonia, a music video, and music by Songs To Wear Pants To? By Poseidon, this is nearly too good to be true! After reading this sentence full of pirate innuendos, embark on a salty voyage upon the sea of Flash with a boat of Lawlolawl."

Reviews


BlobbycartoonsBlobbycartoons

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 2, 2010

Its good

But when this takes over Tarboy/Last of the dashkins and other BRILLIANT animations in the chart, it just doesn't really work out?



VoiceJailVoiceJail

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 11, 2010

Original.

Songs great but the lack of any real animation is ABIT of a let down. Top notch quality everywhere else though.

birdie409: Fuck ninjas, go watch Naruto.



Sparx-1Sparx-1

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 25, 2010

ACK! Beat me to it!

I was planning on making a video to this song myself, but looks like you did it first. Wasn't quite what I got from the song, but it was still entertaining.



razhellrazhell

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 7, 2010

nha

its funny but annoying as hell



BronstedLowryBronstedLowry

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 27, 2010

Noooo

It pains me to say it, but I agree with SomeGuyChokingACat. I found this song more entertaining before the video. The fantastic imagery of ROBOT FREAKING PIRATES SHAKING IT LIKE A STICK WITH A DEAD GUY ON IT just isn't done justice by the pixel art. I'm always happy to hear this and it's interesting to see Lawlolawl's interpretation... but I really think this song deserves a better (unofficial?) video.

As for actual constructive criticism: the animation style, though cute, does not match this song. It's gangsta-pirate robot rap, yo! Chubby pastel pixelbots are not convincing gangsta-pirate robot rappers, yo! But okay, that could be personal taste, fair enough. What this animation needs is more of the song's wit: why is the "I spoke to him in binary a-a-aand he underthtood!" line reduced to a stream of binary digits flowing from the pixel hole of a pixelated kitten? Where are the sight gags? Where are the characters? Barring that, why is there so little animation and why is it not synchronized?

Again, I don't want to be too critical of this. I realize it's being provided for free and, further, I am a talentless hack. Nonetheless, this song is awesome and it deserves an awesome video. I hope the 'official' tag on this video doesn't discourage that an "even more" awesome video from being made.