Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 25, 2010 | 5:40 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice March 31, 2010
  • Daily 2nd Place March 26, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

EDIT: Increased audio quality upon request. Thanks for all of the great reviews, you guys are awesome!
EDIT: 100K views? Thanks to all of you that have watched this, and especially to those of you that have watched it ten or more times, or sang the song at school, haha. :D

In collaboration with Andrew from Songstowearpantsto.com!

Comments are appreciated! If you have a question about robots or pirates, I'll do my best to answer it.

Twitter: @lawlolawlpete
Web: www.lawlolawl.com

"Speakonia, a music video, and music by Songs To Wear Pants To? By Poseidon, this is nearly too good to be true! After reading this sentence full of pirate innuendos, embark on a salty voyage upon the sea of Flash with a boat of Lawlolawl."

Reviews


NitrogenousBeingNitrogenousBeing

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 1, 2010

Yeahhh... no

You know I remember considering voting 0 on this when it was under judgment... but I voted 2... Now I'm rather shocked to see it again as weekly 1st hmm... and who cares on earth cares about keira knightley on fb?
Lets see here:
Animation Quality= 5/20 are you kidding? light tan still images right in the beginning? looked a lot like spam to me The colors chosen are terrible
Originality of idea= 7/10 Robot pirate song have been done before...
Music=16/20 Its alright but it could have been soo much better. The song seemed slow and drawn out especially at the beginning. So many potential lines wasted and especially near the end the lyrics seem slapped together without much thought.
However parts I liked: poly with a nuclear reactor, and shake it like a sword with a dead guy on it. And I spoke to him in binary part.
Total score: 5.6/10 barely a 6



TroveTrove

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 12, 2010

it's a good SONG, but this is a flash portal.

This is really hard to do for me because i hate people who bitch about unwarranted success, but to be perfectly honest, the torrential downpour of 5s that this movie is getting is because of the song, which has been available for months on another site and wasnt actually made by the animator.

This movie is a prime example of how adding mediocre animation to a catchy song is apparently an instant win.

Im not saying your animation is bad... well, actually, that's exactly what im saying. its comprised of a few pixel drawings that are barely animated set to music. You don't even have backgrounds for the most part.

Just so you know i do feel like a tool for writing this because the song is good, but as a newgrounds user im not supposed to be reviewing the song im supposed to be reviewing the flash, and it seems a little suspect to me, as it should to you and to all users who read this, that a few pixel .gifs of danging squares set to music is rated higher than videos done by professional animators with completely original content. I know it's just flavour of the month stuff but... i dunno.

tl;dr: i love you andrew, 10 for music. guy animating: your work is lacking, put more effort into making it... you know... animated; backgrounds, lip synching, animation NOT involving the transform tool maybe?

<3 you man.


lawlolawlstudios responds:

First of all, the song was not made by the animator, but WAS made by the author of this submission. Andrew sent me an e-mail asking me to make an animation of this song. This is HIS animation as much as it is MINE. Don't give in to thinking that I just took the song from STWPT, and made an animation about it. On the contrary, this was a COLLABORATIVE project. This means that two people, a musician and an animator, WORKED TOGETHER to create something cool. Judging the Flash based on the animation is a disservice to the creator of the audio.

This following statement of yours is true and aparent: this is a Flash portal. Well-made Flash cartoons involve both audio and graphics. Your numerical review focuses entirely on the animation of the Flash, and therefore, your words are entirely contradictory. You are not reviewing the Flash. You are not reviewing the audio. You are reviewing the animation. There is more than one component involved.

The way that you look at the animation is also extremely, extremely irrational. A few pixel gifs and dancing squares? Really? The truth is that this particular style of animation, regardless of how "primitive" it is, fits the song perfectly. It is my personal opinion, backed up by the countless opinions of others, that the animation simply works with the audio. It goes together, it conveys humor, it just works.

That said, WHO is to say that another animator on Newgrounds could take this song and make something 'better' than this animation with it. Obviously, 'better' is very ambiguous, as 'quality' does not refer to animation only, but to the entire Flash holistically. If this is unclear to you, I mean to say that even a VERY VERY TALENTED ANIMATOR might not be able to bring such success to this song. Sure, the animation would be fantastic, but the appeal would be different. The demographic is variable.

And seriously, how dare you say that I didn't lip sync or animate without the "transform" tool. I put a lot of work into this animation. The success should be attributed to the way that the images fit the song, NOT the audio only, NOT the animation only.

<3 you too.


crash2455crash2455

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 31, 2010

Good Song. . .

Andrew makes amazing music (speaking of which, this should probably be added to the "Songs To Wear Pants To" section).

The visuals, however, are a different story. I like the 8-bit look (your art style is pretty cool), but there's no real direction. It's mostly just stills that literally depict the song.



SomeGuyChokingACatSomeGuyChokingACat

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 27, 2010

Horrible

The song is great, but the flash movie it self shows laziness, lack of animation skill and boring pixel art. I don't whether to vote it bad or good because the song deserves a 10/10 and 4/5 but the flash its self is really a 2/10 1/5...



loverboy1013loverboy1013

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 25, 2010

good song

catchy i think it needed more on the graphic side


People find this review helpful!