Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 6, 2010 | 8:20 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice March 10, 2010
  • Review Crew Pick March 10, 2010
  • Daily Feature March 7, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of Katan, a little aztec critter who works as a stonemason on huge pyramid projects. He's an eager, talented employee who beleives strongly in what the project stands for, putting in endless overtime to get things done.

When a less committed, self-serving employee hatches a plan to steal the soul jewel of the temple, the mysterious crystal skull, Katan finds himself under blame and attack from the very monument he helped to create.

------------------------

I started making this toon November 2008 and finally exported it in January 2010.
Various delays, injuries, graduations and jobs made it hard to focus on for a lot of the time- but it is fairly safe to say that it took a year to make... Which also accounts for the style changes and quality progression evident throughout the four mins of play time ;)

Thanks for watching- and thanks again to Newgrounds for letting me upload such large movie files

Reviews


CythosCythos

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2010

Awesome for every animation lover

THe graphics are simply amazing, the story its enjoyable , i think its 10/10

Please, make a sequel :)


People find this review helpful!

FlashfireEXFlashfireEX

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2010

Amazing.

That was epic. It had action, cute characters and GREAT animation! The shading was just perfect. The story was well written and didn't lose me for a second. The only flaw was that the cut-off ear switched sides a bit but that's hard to keep track of, or even to notice so that's nothing to me. I am a big fan of your work and I recognized your style immediately (particularly from Ekkosangen, as I love that Flash). It took over a year, eh? I believe it. Great job and I hope to see even more work from you in the future(squirrel, lol). 10/10 5/5


People find this review helpful!
FutureSquirrel responds:

I hear about the ear a lot, so I'm aware of that =)

My beta viewers missed it, as did I before I first posted the video around.

It occured because I mirrored a couple scenes to ensure the transitions weren't too abrupt.
I decided not to fix it though before posting here. There's something interesting about mistakes... I dunno... more homemade garage-build feel this way...


SketchtechSketchtech

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2010

Absolutely Brilliant!

It is ver rare that we see an animation of this quality. Everything is smooth, crisp, and consistent. I can basically guarantee that this will be on the front page and in the top fifty. Excellent work my friend. I hope you continue this story!



PIED3PIED3

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2010

Outstanding

Wow, that was awesome. Some of the best, smoothest animation i've seen on Newgrounds, if not the Internet, in a long time. Ill be honest i didn't get the story fully but still really enjoyed the whole thing. It obviously took a LOT of work, but in my opinion it was definitely worth it (for you) Thanks for making this!


FutureSquirrel responds:

There's nothing deep in the story- you were probably looking for stuff that wasn't there =)

Ancient civilisation build pyramids, one employee decides to be self-serving and steal the jewel of the temple, another employee caught up in the action.. etc


Shabazza84Shabazza84

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 6, 2010

Nice piece of artwork

+ A good sory
+ nice, detailed drawings and character-style
+ a smooth, complex animation.

Really a remarkable work!

5/5 *
9/10