Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 6, 2010 | 8:20 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice March 10, 2010
  • Review Crew Pick March 10, 2010
  • Daily Feature March 7, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of Katan, a little aztec critter who works as a stonemason on huge pyramid projects. He's an eager, talented employee who beleives strongly in what the project stands for, putting in endless overtime to get things done.

When a less committed, self-serving employee hatches a plan to steal the soul jewel of the temple, the mysterious crystal skull, Katan finds himself under blame and attack from the very monument he helped to create.

------------------------

I started making this toon November 2008 and finally exported it in January 2010.
Various delays, injuries, graduations and jobs made it hard to focus on for a lot of the time- but it is fairly safe to say that it took a year to make... Which also accounts for the style changes and quality progression evident throughout the four mins of play time ;)

Thanks for watching- and thanks again to Newgrounds for letting me upload such large movie files

Reviews


JohnEndel959JohnEndel959

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2010

Innovative and Interesting

It's really nice to see something this different from most things in the Portal, I definetely think this deserves its high rankings. The idea is really cool, and the animation is great. The struggle between good and evil is apparent and played out really well. The ending seemed a tad strange with the divine entity thing reviving them, but it was satisfying seeing the good guy get appreciation from the stars. I really enjoyed the openning scene where it introduced the workmen and the temple, it fit well with the music, I really think you should continue your work.


People find this review helpful!

b-29erb-29er

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2010

This is epic

This is my first review in a while, and damn well worth it. This is a great movie with a lot of originality and quality. The quality on this rivals even some of the experts on the site. There are so many details in the background, the characters, the explosions, lots of places where 9/10 people would have cut quality, you went back and added more. The plot itself is so unique, so original, there should be a katan on the front page, not the tankman. This is all just incorperated incredibly well, and has only refined the quality I have seen in previous flashes. And the fact that it took 2 years to make is a surprise in the opposite direction. There is so much originality, so much quality, I am just awestruck. Great job. Keep up the great work. A katan 2 or even something with the anubis would be a great project.



sambammersambammer

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2010

best original idea ive ever seen!

oh, and another thing. it would really suck to be the hero in this story. having to dodge weapons and other things while the bad guy goes up the elevator. i would rather have someone take the sacred thing than die trying to stop them.

he also tried to steal from the egyptians, but Anubas aint gon let that fly!



kattxkattx

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2010

sooo-weet

this was awesome, just awesome



RamboFoxRamboFox

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2010

Absolutely stunning!

All that hard work and time certainly payed off with this masterpiece.

And I see why you didn't need to put any sounds in it - the music narrates this fantastic animation flawlessly.

You had me on the edge of my seat with the fantastic suspense, and wonderful ending.


People find this review helpful!