Be a Supporter!


rated 4.42 / 5 stars
Share Links:

Credits & Info

Mar 6, 2010 | 8:20 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice March 10, 2010
  • Review Crew Pick March 10, 2010
  • Daily Feature March 7, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!

Author Comments

This is the story of Katan, a little aztec critter who works as a stonemason on huge pyramid projects. He's an eager, talented employee who beleives strongly in what the project stands for, putting in endless overtime to get things done.

When a less committed, self-serving employee hatches a plan to steal the soul jewel of the temple, the mysterious crystal skull, Katan finds himself under blame and attack from the very monument he helped to create.


I started making this toon November 2008 and finally exported it in January 2010.
Various delays, injuries, graduations and jobs made it hard to focus on for a lot of the time- but it is fairly safe to say that it took a year to make... Which also accounts for the style changes and quality progression evident throughout the four mins of play time ;)

Thanks for watching- and thanks again to Newgrounds for letting me upload such large movie files



Rated 5 / 5 stars

Great flash.

I've loved this flash since I first saw it about a year ago. Easily on of the greatest stand-alone flashes on Newgrounds. Saw your other work and found it pretty good too. Keep up the good work FutureSquirrel.


Rated 5 / 5 stars


The whole escape from the underground dungeon was magnificent. I watched it several times and I must say this is one of the best flash animations I have ever seen. The speed and everything was right on. Great job on the story line too! 10/10 :)


Rated 5 / 5 stars


One of the best animations I've seen here on Newgrounds! Fluid, great sound, great music.... great EVERYTHING! I'm speechless! All I can say is how epic this is! Well done! Keep it up!

People find this review helpful!


Rated 5 / 5 stars

Easily one of the best flash movies I've ever seen

The graphics are superb, the audio meshes extremely well, and the story is conveyed without a single word spoken. I only have two problems with it: I do have to agree with some of the other reviewers in that Katan's love for what he does isn't really portrayed in the movie itself quite as well as it could be, and the ear that got cut off kept switching sides. I'd give it a 9.8/10.0, but I can't do decimals so I'll just round it up to 10.


Rated 5 / 5 stars

Here's my view...

Awesome. View on characters:
Blue - Unlucky at first, but resourceful.
Red - Greedy, and probably dead by the time I type this.
Spirit - ... good judgement, spirit!
Animation - Great job! Design, awesome. Story, awesome.
Overall - 15/10

People find this review helpful!