Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 3, 2010 | 1:50 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 4, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place March 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Take a poignant walk through the life of an alien caught in the midst of humanity.

This is a game that you may not consider to be a game. It won't tell you if you've won or lost. You won't level up or defeat the final boss. It's short. It's simple. You might get nothing out of it at all.

That's fine, just try not to kill each other in the reviews, okay?

Reviews


SausauSausau

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 5, 2010

Lead the ghosts astray

It's a tale before everything. A story you can't interfer with and however control. The Slint-like chords progression, reacting with the bullets hitting your body, the smooth black and white, instauring a somber yet nostalgic feeling, the purified design, leaving the merely faceless bodies of inhumanity prone amongst the chaos, everything about this game is great. I regret however its short length. I haven't added anything to my favourites in a long time, time that is over now thanks to this gem.


People find this review helpful!

OlconOlcon

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2010

Truly moving.

While this may not fulfill the general concepts of a flash game, it nonetheless has an inspiring message. It was touching to play as an alien to protect your "adopted" family from the terrors of war. The snow at the end was saddening.

The black and white graphics, the simple harmonics for sound effects, and the soft music all culminated into a touching experience, in my opinion. I also noticed that the music continued for the entire game, except when the alien dies and the snow starts falling. Brilliant use of the "universal blanket" effect. For these things, I'm giving this a 5/5 and 10/10.

For all of you who don't believe me about the "universal blanket" thing for snow, next time go outside after a snowstorm. Except for the occasional car passing down the street, you won't hear a sound. No birds chirping, no animals moving. Snow mutes all of nature's activities and blankets all noise.

Tips:
-You are a human shield (well, not really human...). Use yourself to protect your family. Yes, you will eventually die from taking so many rifle shots, tanks shells, and plane bombs to your face. That's the whole point of the game.

-As you take more shots, you will start to slow down. This acts a sort of "health bar", and will also make it harder to protect your family. While this is a gradual increase at first, soon you will notice a sharp drop in your alien's mobility. That signifies you are getting closer to the end.

-The only power I've seen is what I've dubbed "slow-mo". It occurs when there are lots of bullets on the screen and the family is in danger. The bullets will slow down to a crawl and you will notice a sharp increase in the alien's speed. Use this time to literally throw yourself into the bullets and projectiles. It lasts about two seconds, and you'll know it's started by a soft, barely audible "doo-dee-doo-dee" tone. Don't worry about pressing any keys to activate it, it will begin on its own.

-The music is by far the most important aspect of the game. As stated above, "slow-mo" is announced by a tone, as is the arrival of enemies. If you listen close enough, you can even hear a tone every time the alien takes a step.

-Don't whine and complain and say "this game is boring" or "this game has no meaning, it's stupid" because this was obviously meant to provide a message. What the message may be can be interpreted by the player. Enjoy this, it's not often something this deep comes around.


People find this review helpful!

HorserenoirHorserenoir

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2010

Brilliant

could have been longer, but that was fantastic, one of the best games ive played on negrounds


People find this review helpful!

adswarsadswars

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2010

Amazing yet depressing

loved the animation atyle but its so sad, very moveing



chukurelchukurel

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2010

an advice

the game is cool but it was 2 short...so sad...