Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 3, 2010 | 1:50 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 4, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place March 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Take a poignant walk through the life of an alien caught in the midst of humanity.

This is a game that you may not consider to be a game. It won't tell you if you've won or lost. You won't level up or defeat the final boss. It's short. It's simple. You might get nothing out of it at all.

That's fine, just try not to kill each other in the reviews, okay?

Reviews


Doomtrain666Doomtrain666

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 7, 2010

Not too shabby

That was a really good little game. Pretty emotional too, considering you dont know much about the alien. Simple, straightforward, not a bad addition.



jasokunjasokun

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 7, 2010

it feels good to save them all.

nice simple flash and every time a member dies, you get slower, thus making nit harder. the ai for the dad must of been done on purpose since he keeps running so far ahead, so just go little by little and protect the women.
kinda sad how even after they all made it pass the house, i still died, the women cried, and it started snowing, but at least it was better than th...wait did i reach the ending checkpoint the first time too?
regardless you die, but its a cool death in both perspective; you either die and lose hope after everyone dies or you still die knowing you protected the family.



MikeGhost123MikeGhost123

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 7, 2010

That Alien its beter than ET and Alf

Its a really cool game, the only problem its that its to short
but besides that it has a deep meaning and leasson.
Not everything that comes from other planets have to be evil right?
He its like superman (he can stop bullet and he its fast as &%$#)
Great Game .-)



ohpaching46137256148ohpaching46137256148

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 7, 2010

I don't know

Everyone's writing such nice reviews, but unfortunately, I got stuck in the very beginning because some glitch caused the girl to not pick up the alien and put him down on the higher ground. I was stuck in the little hole in the ground. But, I am going to assume that it would have been a great game based on what everyone else is saying.



SpeedyardSpeedyard

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 7, 2010

This is what games are meant to be.

It is astonishing how such a brief and simple game can create in you such a connection with the events depicted. At first, I thought it would be some graphic work of gore- "Oh, the alien will eat the little girl." How many times have we seen that in video games? It was to my delight that instead the game chose to tell a story, to involve me as a player in ways all too few games attempt.

In the best and most moving works of fiction, be it literature or film, we become invested in the characters and events in a far deeper level than merely as an obserever, and certainly as a passive consumer of "mere amusement." The character become our friends, our companions our teachers. Games, however, have an especially powerful opportunity to affect the player/reader. We do not just know the character in an intimate way, to some degree we become that character and actually partake of their struggles, their powers, and their goals, and most of all their stories.

In this sense, ImmorTall reminds me of Shadow of the Colossus. Little is provided in way of story. Rather, it is in playing the game that the story is told and we connect with the characters and their struggles. It is a wonderful thing to find a game in which it becomes important to you the player to see the game played well, to protect the family that you, as the alien visitor, have befriended.

It is games that are able to draw the player in in ways like this, whatever genre they are of, be they commercial or independent projects, that possess that powerful aesthetic ability to speak to the human heart in deep and mysterious ways.

If the worlds we love and the stories we tell in our favorites games are what they are and speak to us in the ways they do, then how can the cyniscism, the bleakness, the despair, and relativism all too common in the "real" world and "ordinary" life possibly be true?

Speedyard / Adeimantus


People find this review helpful!