Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 24, 2010 | 12:39 AM EST
  • Review Crew Pick March 3, 2010
  • Daily 5th Place February 25, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATED: June 08,2010

Animated from FLASH, background with PHOTOSHOP, effects and editing with AFTER EFFECTS, and add 3D objects with 3Ds max. this is my 5th flash/second submission and i will try even harder next animation project.

http://manuel-berja.webs.
com/

Reviews


MonkFlashMonkFlash

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 3, 2010

Great!

This is really great. Great animation, nice music. Sad in the end.
but kudos to you. Keep it up


manuelberja responds:

thanks!


AnimithAnimith

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 2, 2010

Firstly, and lastly; NICE art.

I really loved the merging of the 2D and the 3D, as well as the different styles of colouring used on the different things (Background/foreground/characters). There were a few instances, especially with the cat, where the outline seemed quite rugged or something about the lines/colouring could have been improved a little, but in general it was nicely done.

The storyline is pretty simple, but it fits well with what's generally a light-hearted and near-comical flash. The things like the slow-motion falling out of the tree were perhaps more funny than I should have found them, but again, they just add to the light-heartedness of the beginning. While this first section may have been a little too long and could have possibly done with a little more going on than the cat chasing the butterfly, in general it was wonderfully inoffensive.

Your choice of music and sound effects are also very fitting; again, quite a cheery accompaniment, with enough sound effects to highlight events without there being so many as to be irritating.

The part where the cat falls asleep and seems to fall into a brief dream-sequence involving butterflies confused me a little, as I wasn't sure whether the cat was dreaming or whether you'd just changed the background colouring for effect. Maybe if it had been a little longer at THAT point you could have established it a little more, but given the brevity of the sleeping-cat scene in general, perhaps it being short works in its favour.

And the ending, while quite sad and unexpected, was pretty well done. Although it did go a little too fast between the forest and the shop and the museum, perhaps.

Just to be a bit of a grammar pedant, your ending dialogue doesn't make grammatical sense.
I think it said "It exist thousand years ago"...when it should have said "It existed thousands of years ago", or some such thing.

All in all, this was a really nice flash. Until the unhappy ending, of course. Deserved a little higher than 5th place, given how everything fits so well together, but c'est la vie. Very good work, overall.

-Review Request Club


People find this review helpful!
manuelberja responds:

more thanks!


RogerBKRogerBK

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 2, 2010

Simply Great!!

Man, this is sfo beauftiful, it have a heavenly touch, you made a nice story, retracting only the truth...

The drawings are nicely done, it's real and i see you cared about it... The colors are awesomely applied to the movie, they fit perfectly to the touching story, the butterfly is awesome, you captured nicely the movements, they gived a nice touch to the animation...

The end was so sad, :'(, you truly retracted the reality, the bad reality, you made me wonder on how the humanity can be so brutal and bad w/ the innocent animals...

Beautiful job, it's like Fro said, the movie didn't get a better award, and how it's not frontpaged??

(Review Request Club)
Roger


People find this review helpful!
manuelberja responds:

Thanks! more thanks!


FroFro

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 2, 2010

~ Review Request Club ~

I'm surprised why this hasn't won a better award or been front paged. Perhaps it's one of those things that didn't quite get noticed by Tom. Oh well, it happens like that I guess. I think it's rather amazing if I may say so myself.

Before I get into reviewing the submission I have a quick question. Why didn't you fit it to the screen correctly? There was a thin layer of gray that almost made this look like it was from something and you just took it and submitted it as your own. I'm sure this isn't true, but it was almost like you didn't know the dimensions of your movie.

~ Animation/Graphics ~

There were a few parts where they didn't seem to quite fit the style that you were using. While watching this I could tell the cat was done in one thing, the background was done in another, etc... I think that without this meshing of the styles into one blended mix it'll never really get to that next step.

I already mentioned that it was quite good so the next step that I'm referring to is making real cartoons that you would see on television. I really don't think that would be too much of a jump to say I could see you doing this for a career.

~ Story/Concept ~

This is why it probably didn't win a better award. I know most people on the site have the attention span of a 5 year old and can't watch anything that has a story/plot to it without a lot of action.

I wouldn't have minded seeing a bit more action in it as well, but it had a nice concept and story all around and it was a nice relief from the killing, cock jokes, and immature submissions that are usually the most popular.

~ Audio ~

I wouldn't have minded hearing voices. I know that the animals don't have voices, but the characters at the end could have. The sound effects and music were very fitting and I found that they really added to the submission. Never once did they seem out of place.

~ Overall ~

The animation was really good, but I feel like you could have mixed them and blended them to seem as one a bit better. The story could have used a little more excitement or emotion, but was generally a good idea. The audio was very fitting with the submission.

I feel this deserves more than a 5th place and that it could have at least been front paged.

~ Review Request Club ~


People find this review helpful!
manuelberja responds:

thanks!:)


Celx-RequinCelx-Requin

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 2, 2010

Nice fusion piece...

Hello,

I applaud you on the way you've integrated the 2D, & 3D elements together, it was very well done with only a few instances that I felt could have been better. To be more specific at times the 3D stuck out quite a bit, and ruined the whole illusion of the world you created.

That said the animation was very smooth, even considering you were animating cats, because as any animator knows anything with four legs is a bitch to animate.

Nice use of effects, it would have been cool if you made some of them dynamic though, hearing stuff move on the left, and right speaker is always cool, and adds a layer of realism.

Nice story, a little too generic, and "cute" for my tastes. I'm sure the majority of newgrounds will dig this though!

Sincerely,
- Celx
~Review Request Club~


manuelberja responds:

thanks man!