Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 9, 2010 | 8:22 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 10, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place February 10, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This has been the most difficult film I have ever made, because its meaning is very true to my soul. For too much of my life I have been a mindless consumer of time. Hopelessly placing value in things that never gave an ounce of value back. Now that I am older, I worry endlessly that this new generation is making the same mistakes I now deeply regret.

In the end, I hope my message is honest and clear. Whether you agree with me or not, please share you thoughts, spark meaningful discussions, and share this film with everyone you know.

Special thanks to all those who have been my strength - and to all of you for taking a moment to open your minds =)

Reviews


KAOSKINGKAOSKING

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 20, 2012

i wrote this review before you even finnished.

everything is good, but the theme.

heres the problem:

videogames, like all things, are good for you in some way or another, IN MODERATION.
that means as long as you have a balance in your life, your good.
you can be a good gamer, and be a good father too.
many gamers can and do let themselves get trapped in the virtual world, but that doesnt mean to remove games entirely from yourself.
through games, you can learn quite a bit about life, history, and even society.
you can see how people think, how people feel.
games are a way to imagine new and fantastic realities, to bring to people a level of perspective not until then known.

the reason why games are so popular is because they let you immerse yourself in them. sure, you can make an amazing painting, or a flashy...flash...cartoon..., but some avarage joe isnt going to always get the point, or even understand what it is at all.
videogame bridge that gap by making the average joe an unaverage part of that work of art.

i agree that becoming so addicted that letting it rule your life is a bad thing, but in moderation, videogames can inspire greatness, bring motivation to a dreary day, or even uplift spirits.


People find this review helpful!

runescapeoprunescapeop

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 20, 2011

Some valuable points to this

Most of it doesn't apply to me. I'm a wild gamer. I excel in school. I'm quite fit and I'm putting on muscle, I have a good number of friends I'd give anything for, and none of it was tainted by gaming at 18 years old. I guess if you're lucky enough to find that median that prevents addiction but sparks interest, moderating your time and efforts becomes easy. I also really like your concluding point about community. I'd give anything to meet the masterminds behind what I see as a technical and creative art. To meet somebody that I can run around and "spazz" about with an upcoming game. Games taught me something else too: Characters. I aim to become an actor, and through gaming I've seen how deep and beautiful fictional characters can be. Becoming them is even more exciting and after taking classes and being lead roles in theater plays, my path in life has been, for the time being, chosen.

Oh, what I'd give to be a voice actor for a game... That's something I'm hoping to do along the way :]

Have faith. Turning interest into constructive stock is possible even for gaming. :)


People find this review helpful!

GlowingPixelGlowingPixel

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 1, 2011

Thank You!

I must begin by first expressing my gratitude for your courage to share this video, and I can only imagine the amount of criticism you've received, and how strong you have to be to handle it in the right way.

In total honesty, I do agree with what has been said about moderation, and how you don't have to give up gaming ENTIRELY to truly appreciate what we have in reality. Still, like many, I personally can relate closely to what was covered, with the accumulative expenses, etc., and while I've begun to realise this myself, I eventually discovered this, which actually helped me reach a stage where I could combat this with the intent to make a comfortable change. I'm really enjoying this challenge, seeking a new balance.

I love gaming and the creativity behind it, but you've really identified some key principles which many don't regard seriously enough in this modern world of electronic technology. I've definitely taken something away from this, and I hope that others will too, without getting the wrong idea.

I aspire to DRAW like you, let alone animate! I love New Leaf Saga, and all the best for your future work - you are incredibly talented. ^_^


People find this review helpful!

Jetblackx2018Jetblackx2018

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 30, 2011

Interesting

However, your problem wasn't with videogames, sir. It was with Moderation.

Burning your WoW disks to death is what's called "Extremism." It's like with alcoholics, they can either have too much or NO alcohol whatsoever. This is simply not the case with videogames (And I really sincerely doubt it's the case with 70% of alcoholics, too)

The key lies in moderation. I've found a nice, healthy balance myself. Naturally life, family, work, and education come first. Yet, I can still find time in between going to the gym, running errands and having fun with friends to play games every now and then... about 3 hours a day, on average. Could I be doing something more productive with this time? Sure I could. But I'm not going to - I enjoy playing games. As do you, apparently.

So go ahead. Play. Enjoy. Just don't let it rule or wreck your life. Moderation.


People find this review helpful!

Randy-355Randy-355

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2011

I can see your point, however...

This video is a bit too blunt about it. Video games are NOT bad things. Some games can teach younger people the importance of morals and even simpler knowledge like words and math. I think, the older you get the less time you should be spending with video games, however, they can provide relaxation and a temporary mental break from real world issues. They won't teach you as much and you'll have more important things to do, but that doesn't mean it's not okay.

Moderation. Just giving up something you like to do so willingly is in my opinion a bad lesson. If I stopped playing today, I'd still have just as many hours at work, and just as much time for schooling. Maybe this worked for you, but this isn't a lesson for everybody.

This video misses the point where there are values in gaming. No you won't learn to be a swordsman or survive a zombie apocalypse, but that is a stupid expectation. Simpler things can be learned, and stories can be enjoyed. Just look at Assassin's Creed 2 for example. Historically, that game has a lot of value and can teach you about renaissance Italy. And the story teaches you about the avoiding the consumption of revenge, and learning to think for yourself.

I know your intentions are good with this video, but to say video games have no value and are a mistake to get into is just not true in any sense. Though you can't let video games control your life either. Video games in moderation can be great for kids and adults alike. I guess my point is, this video is too bias and maybe should contain the short term benefits of gaming too.


People find this review helpful!