Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 9, 2010 | 8:22 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 10, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place February 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This has been the most difficult film I have ever made, because its meaning is very true to my soul. For too much of my life I have been a mindless consumer of time. Hopelessly placing value in things that never gave an ounce of value back. Now that I am older, I worry endlessly that this new generation is making the same mistakes I now deeply regret.

In the end, I hope my message is honest and clear. Whether you agree with me or not, please share you thoughts, spark meaningful discussions, and share this film with everyone you know.

Special thanks to all those who have been my strength - and to all of you for taking a moment to open your minds =)

Reviews


gameplaya2021gameplaya2021

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2012

i say you just have poor time management. i have to for everything and still i'm a hardcore gamer. i goto the gym everyday, i go out with my friends everyday, i work everyday, and i play videogames everyday. i have a girlfriend, go to parties, and still have time for videogames. yea im tired, but not from videogames, from work. i sleep 7 hours a day, which is more then what is recomemnded. in fact i feel better with less sleep. so stop bitching and learn how to manage your time.



kupo161kupo161

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 26, 2012

First things first, I'll start with what I liked. Your animation wasn't bad, and neither was the quality of the audio. Since that's about it, I'll move on to what I was a little less happy with.

Namely, the fact that you were painting all videogames in the same negative light. Yes, there are some games that are little more than a drain of time and effort, but you completely neglect those that aren't. Game like Portal or Bioshock, which provide you with an experience, or show you something beautiful, or force you to make hard decisions. And it's this lack of a distinction, and generalization of all games that isn't fair at all.

Also, what about the games that connect people? There are friends I've made purely from a shared interest in a particular game, and friendships strengthened over time invested in multiplayer. I think you need to be more careful about blaming videogames when clearly your problem is with addiction to them. And, really, addiction to anything can be harmful, not just videogames.

You point out that one could read several books in the time spent on videogames, which is certainly true, but is that time more productive? Will you be any richer, experience wise? If your reading classics, yeah. Trashy romance novels, not so much. Likewise, if you spend that time on farmville, all you'll have is imaginary plants. If you're playing Mass Effect, and making decisions that make you stop and think about the kind of person you are, understand your own morality and ethical code? Then you most certainly are better off.

In short, I think you needed to be more careful, more considerate and have spent more time thinking about this video before you made it. As it is, it strikes me as a strange and uncomfortable combination of preachy and whiny.


People find this review helpful!

GrindCrusherGrindCrusher

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 24, 2012

This is a good video, but there are way worse things to be addicted to than videogames. Shame on you for making video games sound like methamphetamine, or heroin, alchohol, crack, cocaine or any other highly addictive substance. Video games dont destroy your body and mind unless you let them, much like television. Wise up. You can be a video game addict, ive met them, but they are not in the same league as the crackheads and tweakers I've had to suffer the company of.



bounding117bounding117

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 18, 2012

You raised some valid points, and I appriciated the notice towards the video gaming communities, much the way that some gamers just waste their lives, others such as me have found great friends through these communities. In summary, video games aren't bad as a whole, but simply bad as to how the player uses the time playing, some play by themselves just to kill time, whilst others have found the balance between playing and real life and merged them together.


People find this review helpful!

HomestuckMadnessHomestuckMadness

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 18, 2012

I now have the erge to go to the gym now...


People find this review helpful!