Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 9, 2010 | 8:22 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 10, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place February 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This has been the most difficult film I have ever made, because its meaning is very true to my soul. For too much of my life I have been a mindless consumer of time. Hopelessly placing value in things that never gave an ounce of value back. Now that I am older, I worry endlessly that this new generation is making the same mistakes I now deeply regret.

In the end, I hope my message is honest and clear. Whether you agree with me or not, please share you thoughts, spark meaningful discussions, and share this film with everyone you know.

Special thanks to all those who have been my strength - and to all of you for taking a moment to open your minds =)

Reviews


ShadowmancerLordShadowmancerLord

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 20, 2013

The concept was good, but the execution was terrible.

Basically, you're saying that you yourself have no responsibility for the bad decisions you've made, and that video games are the cause. The games have nothing to do with it. They are just a tool. People have problems, and they retreat into things. Books. Games. Sports. Work. Even sexual relationships.

You cannot tell someone they've "wasted their life". I realized this a while bacl, and discarded it, because gaming is something I enjoy doing. It doesn't hurt me to play games, because I make friends doing so, and I don't neglect other areas of my life for them. If you do, the issue is with YOU, not with the games. If you didn't have the games, you would still have the same problem, you would just channel it into something else. Maybe you would have your nose permanently buried in a book. Maybe you would use headphones to block out the world around you, or maybe you would have a phone glued to your palm.

This film is not about the problems of video games. It's about the inability to accept responsibility for your actions, and to admit that it is YOUR fault. Your wife did not leave you because you played games; she left because you would rather selfishly entertain yourself than spend time with her. You didn't become overweight because of games; you became overweight because instead of exercising, you chose to sit around in a sedentary lifestyle. Games are not the problem. Your state of mind is. Playing games distracts you from this state of mind instead of addressing it.

But the problem is, what if that is what the person WANTS? What if they don't mind having a few less friends in exchange for personal entertainment, and the ability to experience things they would never be able to otherwise? Why is, say, exploring a mountain range in a video game any worse than exploring one in real life? What makes the activities you do in a game any less important than physical ones? The only value of anything in this life is what you put on it. I don't have any wish to be rich, or famous, or popular. I am fine with a small group of friends who I love, staying in the same places, using technology as a way to go to places beyond imagination. Could I go climb a mountain, or canoe through the sea, or hack through the jungle? Sure, but here I can do those things from home, in safety. And that makes me happy. Who are you to tell me what should make me happy, or what I should enjoy? Or how I should live my life? Or what is worth doing, or what priorities I should place on things?

I understand your point, but your point does not apply to everyone. It may apply to you, but that does not mean you should tell others they have to be the same as you. My life is perfectly balanced. I'm still young; I'm 21, working on school, going to a job every day, moving into an apartment with my best friends this weekend. I don't go out and party, I don't go out to many social gatherings, I don't hang out with a bunch of people. I don't mind that. Sometimes I enjoy solitude, and sometimes I enjoy being with people who know me well enough to finish my sentences. Small groups and close bonds are things that make me happy, and that's how it will stay. Why do you see that as a bad thing?


People find this review helpful!

SgtPenguin117SgtPenguin117

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 14, 2013

The sad thing is, is that many people don't already know this.



SincereSandwichSincereSandwich

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 15, 2013

You said it yourself 'true to my soul' not everyone, but I can see what you're trying to say.



Randomman641Randomman641

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 23, 2012

I am a gamer myself and i went towards that path because, no one like me or wanted to be friends with me. That was before i found to of my best friends that i stil talk to today.

I might not have that many friends but I found these friends because they were just like me, a freak, a retard. i didn't care what anyone said i was myself and i have found a way to balance my games and real life. So i want to thank you for your advice about not wasting life on games, and you have made me think about how games have either wrecked or helped my life.

From your new fan, Random Man!



AeothegreatAeothegreat

Rated 0 / 5 stars December 18, 2012

so you wasted you life? ok so you were and still are a loser. and instead of gettn off your ass and making something of ur life u decided to instead continue to be a lazy sack of crap and make this flash to feel like u accomplished something. fact is, you havent. dont wanna b a gamer? fine. but dont continue to ruin ur life QQing about it.