Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 3, 2010 | 12:36 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 4, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place February 10, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Dragon-slayer 5 Points Beat Island Beast
Chibi-mage 10 Points Get all 4 spells
Furball-slayer 10 Points Beat Canyon Beast
Demon-slayer 25 Points Defeat Demon Beast
Speed-runner 25 Points Beat game without getting the axe and without getting any spells
Worthy-chibi 25 Points Defeat all 3 knights
Grinder 50 Points Level up everything to level 8
Slash-n'-burn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

10/7/2013 - Fixed medals I broke with the last update. Sorry!
8/15/2013 - Updated game with links to help support the sequel (Chibi Knight 2) "Super Chibi Knight" which you can vote "YES" on at Steam Greenlight: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=152710075

3 beasts have ravaged the land of Oukoku, legend tells of a small knight who will save the kingdom.

If you're having problems with keys sticking, it's an Internet Explorer (most likely version 8) bug. You can use a different browser, or use the fix here: http://bit.ly/b9rSev

Controls:
=========
Arrows - Move
A - Select, Attack, Skip
S - Spell Menu
P - Pause
From Pause Menu: Toggle Sfx, Music, Quality

Comments:
===========
Big thanks to Brian Holmes for the amazing custom soundtrack. Huge thanks and love to my 5 yr. old daughter Bella for her uber-cute voice acting.

Speed run scoreboards only work for play-throughs done in one shot, ie: don't close the browser and come back later, you won't get into the scoreboards!

I started this project in June 2008, and have slowly whittled away at it for almost 2 years. It started as "what if the gameplay of Castle Crashing the Beard had more of a story." It also stands as a tribute to my favorite RPG Zelda II (see if you can find all the Zelda II references).

Reviews


hybridrealityhybridreality

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 5, 2010

Great fun, but game ending bug.

Was a lot of fun to play, with great graphics and gameplay.

Died in the dungeon though, and got transported to a blue and grey screen.


BoMToons responds:

refresh window, you'll be ok


firerikku546555firerikku546555

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 12, 2010

Good game

However, the 8 year old voice can seriously get annoying when you're flailing your sword around at enemies. Please if there's a sequal make him sound a bit older but keep the chibiness.



DanismDanism

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 13, 2010

Lovely little game

It's a nice refreshing game you've made there. Very good basic idea combining an action platformer with and RPG game, but making it straightforward. The art is pleasant and colorful and it's well-animated. The voice comments add a lot of life to the game as well.

However, nothing's perfect as we all know and the game's shortcomings are somewhat grating.
- Around the time you start getting all the really interesting abilities, you're running out of quests to deal with. If you stick around to grind monsters, however, you'll find yourself overpowered.
This basically boils down to the game being a little too short and not having new quests be triggered after the completion of the basic quests, so you can experiment more with the new abilities.

- Early on, monster encounters are rather challenging and it's typically a good idea to grind monsters before actually tackling any bosses. Unfortunately, the monster grinding gets repetitive fast.
The later monsters I found more interesting than the basic ones and it's a shame that the lower level monsters aren't more varied in their functionality, because it could have made the monster grinding more fun.
Also having increasingly more monsters per "monster icon" on the map screen with time could help the pacing of the game.

- More on monster grinding being repetitive:
I kinda wish the monster encounters would rise in difficulty along with the player's levels, or if monsters in some specific regions came in larger numbers or are more dangerous (other than the one-shot bosses).

Overall an enjoyable and memorable game that shows great promise, but sadly its replay value suffers with the action getting repetitive. I would love to see a sequel though, especially if the issues mentioned are addressed.


People find this review helpful!

Mitchell987Mitchell987

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 14, 2010

Bugged

when i go into the fort the little dude doesnt appear



FakeProjectNo2FakeProjectNo2

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2010

PURPLE KNIGHT!

dude the purple knight boss sucked ass dude it was way to fucken hard thats why i'm mad lol
Make a new one were the Purple Knight isnt so gay