Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Feb 3, 2010 | 12:36 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 4, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place February 10, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Dragon-slayer 5 Points Beat Island Beast
Chibi-mage 10 Points Get all 4 spells
Furball-slayer 10 Points Beat Canyon Beast
Demon-slayer 25 Points Defeat Demon Beast
Speed-runner 25 Points Beat game without getting the axe and without getting any spells
Worthy-chibi 25 Points Defeat all 3 knights
Grinder 50 Points Level up everything to level 8
Slash-n'-burn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

12/1/2014 - Buy the sequel at:
9/2/2014 - Sign up to beta test the sequel at: !!!
10/7/2013 - Fixed medals I broke with the last update. Sorry!
8/15/2013 - Updated game with links to help support the sequel (Chibi Knight 2) "Super Chibi Knight" which you can vote "YES" on at Steam Greenlight:

3 beasts have ravaged the land of Oukoku, legend tells of a small knight who will save the kingdom.

If you're having problems with keys sticking, it's an Internet Explorer (most likely version 8) bug. You can use a different browser, or use the fix here:

Arrows - Move
A - Select, Attack, Skip
S - Spell Menu
P - Pause
From Pause Menu: Toggle Sfx, Music, Quality

Big thanks to Brian Holmes for the amazing custom soundtrack. Huge thanks and love to my 5 yr. old daughter Bella for her uber-cute voice acting.

Speed run scoreboards only work for play-throughs done in one shot, ie: don't close the browser and come back later, you won't get into the scoreboards!

I started this project in June 2008, and have slowly whittled away at it for almost 2 years. It started as "what if the gameplay of Castle Crashing the Beard had more of a story." It also stands as a tribute to my favorite RPG Zelda II (see if you can find all the Zelda II references).



Rated 5 / 5 stars


When I first saw the game I found myself intrigued. But then I saw that it was a Legend of Link: Zelda II rip off; right up to the magic boots, the hammer (which became an axe), and even the spell that made you shoot fireballs when you swung your sword... and I found myself intrigued. The combat is "noice" and the the characters voice strangely fit well with what the character looked like. I noticed he said Yatta a few times. The only thing that was weird is how every once in a while, the voice sounds like it suddenly changes.

Retro and fun. I give it a Q out of Red.

People find this review helpful!


Rated 3.5 / 5 stars

It's fantastic

Except for the fact that I lagged a lot during the knight's castle. I couldn't finish the game because it kept lagging from movements, battles and just every little action. I'm running Windows XP. Maybe my computer and OS is just so old that it cannot accept the epicness of this game.

BoMToons responds:

make sure flash player is up to date and toggle quality to low from the pause menu, also try a diff browser


Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

Nearly perfect

Well, the title pretty much says it all, but I'll go into more detail about what I mean.

It's a very simple game; this is both a strength, and a weakness. It's nice that it's very easy to pick up, and you can delve right into the game without cumbersome tutorials and the like. That's always a plus. However, for 90% of the game, I found myself doing little more than mashing "A". Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad thing that it's simple in design, but it did get a bit repetitive at times.

The difficulty is a bit disproportionate. Most of the enemies, and even the bosses, are very, very easy. The Purple and Green Knights were more challenging, but the fact that they were harder than the final boss was a bit off-putting, and the fact that everything prior could be breezed through made it a bit repetitive once again.

A minor issue is also the dungeon; the enemies don't respawn! I'm not sure if this was intended to make it so you REALLY have to grind to get level 8 in all stats, but it definitely would've been nice if the high EXP enemies respawned.

That being said, the game is still incredibly well designed. It definitely did have the same feel as Castle Crashing the Beard, and the Zelda II references were a nice touch (although I definitely need to replay it to refresh myself to recognize all of them). Despite its simplicity it was very enjoyable and was able to hold my interest rather well. The chibi-style, voice-overs, and simplistic story definitely gave it a unique twist so it's not just another hack-and-slash RPG. It made it far less serious and a bit more amusing.

Overall, I'd call it a 9.4/10; there are only a few minor flaws, but none of which take away from the gameplay as a whole. It's extremely well-designed and very worthy of praise. Kudos to you.

People find this review helpful!
BoMToons responds:

Thanks for the detailed review. The reason enemies don't respawn in the tower is because it makes it extremely annoying to try to get through the tower after you die, or when you're backtracking through the maze, to have to fight an enemy every 3 or 4's a decision I made and I understand the complaint about not having a place to grind, but I think it was the right decision for overall gameplay.


Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

I was actually playing this at AG a few days ago

Well, the game is fast paced, and it is fairly easy to die early on. But you also get xp quite fast. There's only one problem for me. Whenever I am in the dungeon area, I seem to lag too much, slow downs, long load times (quite the opposite on the outside). I don't know why it happens. I'll try to play it here and see if it also has that problem. Still, the game is good.


Rated 5 / 5 stars


The game was really creative and fun to play.
Not to mention the really cute voice.

I really enjoyed the game play.
The grinding for the lvl 8 medal was pretty long..but still fun

and I got my first secret medal with this game :P

but there seems to be a medal problem...I got all of them...but half of them are still not achieved on NG

BoMToons responds:

dunno if it's a problem with NG medal system or your internet, but if the medal is appearing in-game, that's the most I can do on my end