Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 23, 2010 | 1:09 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 27, 2010
  • Daily Feature January 24, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Zoom from the edge of the universe to the quantum foam of spacetime and learn the scale of things along the way! Learn the size of the Pillars of Creation and marvel at the minuscule scale of a neutrino!

ARROW KEYS! ARROW KEYS! You can use arrow keys if the scroll bar is too sensitive.

Thank you so much for your high ratings and rave reviews!

Reviews


PlagueStrifePlagueStrife

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 11, 2010

Internet History always repeat itself

I've already seen something like this on ytmnd. Only difference is interactivety, colors, round shape, and easy usability. But since it's flash, it wouldn't be great to use a .jpg from google image search. At first, I thought that why would a flash be here? Wouldn't you do anything better to do like work at a job where your skills are needed? I really don't think the moronic 13 year old of newgrounds deserve nice things, like this flash for example.

Anyway, without any knowledge of how .swf are composed, I'd say this is a nice piece of work that you pour hours of effort into it. You made your knowledge of our universe look like a stroll on a park on a sunny day. By making use of flash, you've made it less intimidating, and more interesting to explore the field of astronomy and/or nano-scaling. Well, at least that's how I felt. Great job.



Disarray-yarrasiDDisarray-yarrasiD

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 29, 2010

Pretty cool

The upper scale of the flash animation is off though. The observable universe is actually about 46.5 light years in radius due to the fact that space-time is expanding. At the beginning of the universe this expansion was faster than the speed of light (though that is not to say that anything was traveling at a speed faster than that of light, simply that the space-time that matter and light exists on was expanding like a balloon being inflated).

Cool Project though

Here's some info if you are interested:
http://en.wiki-pedia.org/wiki/Observa ble_universe



ArachnakidArachnakid

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 31, 2010

Interesting

While I'm sure many of the sizes given are of debatable accuracy (almost everything at that level is), this is a clever little flash device.



skyfer17skyfer17

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 17, 2010

I'll try to rate as fair as possible

As many have said here it doesn't quite get to the professional design of other interactive universal scale models, but that doesn't automatically mean it's bad!

The drawings are mostly crap, but it was actually refreshing to see non-superprecise designs you commonly see in educational figures. I also like your casual use of words which gives a more at home lovey feel instead of strict "this is that" facts most textbooks use. In terms of appeal I'd give it a 8-10/10 in range for me personally.

The way you scale is also nice, but like a few have said, it would have been nice to look to the side so you could read better for a moment. So I'd give it a 7/10.

As for the music, it was top notch! PLEASE TELL ME THAT SONG!! I don't know which of Cliff's it is! 10/10 definitely!



VoliminalggyVoliminalggy

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 19, 2010

GODAAAAAAAAMN

Damn dude, i'm almost graduating and i didnt learned this shit yet, i tripped on this game @.@


People find this review helpful!