Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 20, 2010 | 12:28 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 21, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place January 27, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Inspiration 5 Points Learn 1 cover!
Junk Keeper 5 Points Collect 10 stage items!
New Comer 5 Points Play a good concert at the garage!
Perfectionist I 5 Points Play a perfect song during a concert!
Streak Novice 5 Points Do a 100 notes streak!
Crazy Gig 10 Points Play a sold-out concert at the concert hall!
From The Best 10 Points Learn 5 covers!
Full Bar 10 Points Play a sold-out concert at the bar!
Junk Amateur 10 Points Collect 25 stage items!
Local Punker 10 Points Play a good concert at the bar!
Perfectionist II 10 Points Play 2 perfect songs during a concert!
Popular 10 Points Play a sold-out concert at the garage!
Rising Star 10 Points Play a good concert at the theater!
Serious Player 10 Points Play a good concert at the concert hall!
Streak Apprentice 10 Points Do a 250 notes streak!
Grand Night 25 Points Play a sold-out concert at the theater!
Homage 25 Points Learn 15 covers!
Junk Hunter 25 Points Collect 50 stage items!
Perfectionist III 25 Points Play 3 perfect songs during a concert!
Rocking The World 25 Points Play a sold-out concert at the stadium!
Shining Star 25 Points Play a good concert at the stadium!
Streak Master 25 Points Do a 500 notes streak!
Cover Band 50 Points Learn 30 covers!
Junk Collector 50 Points Collect 100 stage items!
Punk Legend 50 Points Play a good concert at the park!
Writing History 50 Points Play a sold-out concert at the park!

Author Comments

Hello everyone! Here's a massive submission for you!!! I worked very long and hard on this with a bunch of people! I really hope you enjoy Punk-o-matic 2! Create songs, share them, make a band, do concerts & more! Connect with other people on here and on the official website.

Official website: punk-o-matic.net
Official facebook: http://www.facebook.com/P unkoMatic
Official youtube: http://www.youtube.com/us er/OfficialPunkoMatic

LAG: If you're having lag problems, lower the quality in the options, reduce the animation level and disable the concert lights. You can also download the game @punk-o-matic.net and that should help a lot.

Make sure you check out the Tips in-game and on the Official Website to help you make some awesome songs.

Punk-o-matic Pro is in development. For more information, check out this link (remove the spaces):
http://www.punk-o-matic.n et/index.php?option=com_c ontent&view=article&id=19 7&Itemid=133

The mobile version of Punkomatic 1 will also be available soon.

Reviews


ParamoreJessisParamoreJessis

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 30, 2013

bel gioco!!!



Mishkin13Mishkin13

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 20, 2010

Well....eh.....

"A" for effort definitely. I can only imagine how long it took to get all these sampled riffs together. I like the look of the game, and I'm always down to play something creative. But there are some serious issues that take most if not all the fun out of it for me. The first and most notable is the lag / choppy-ness of the game during play. There is nothing more frustrating than playing a game based on timing and rhythm, and the game doesn't know how to keep it's own beat. I can't play many of the songs it gets so bad, even with all graphics options turned down (which by the way, makes the game considerably less fun). The sound is very good quality, but it doesnt seem to run very well. On most (all) the songs the 4 tracks were not even in sync with each other for most of the song. Really great idea for a game, and I hope you are able to get it running a bit smoother, but right now it's more or less unplayable


People find this review helpful!
Evil-Dog responds:

you can't have a crappy computer AND an awesome graphic intensive game, can you PM me your pc specs, most people play it just fine


ironpanther12ironpanther12

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2010

Good but...

I really wish I didn't have to play the notes during the concerts it's really hard even on easy. That's my only problem with it but it's a big problem I wish there was an option to turn that off...



csdthegreatcsdthegreat

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2010

You obviously put a lot of effort into this.

Punk-O-Matic was probably one of the first games I played on Newgrounds. At the time, it was a fun toy I could mess around in while I was bored. It didn't really stick with me though... it felt sort of limited.

From playing certain other games and visiting forums over the last few years, I noticed it had a somewhat large following. I could understand that, since I had some fun with it, but I never really joined in.

Now the sequel is out, and I was hoping to see improvements to the editor. Well, it has improvements, but not quite how I hoped. What I would've liked is a note by note pattern editor, rather than tons of prerecorded riffs and patterns. (Would that help with file size? I'd think it would, since there wouldn't be as many audio files.) I feel very creative, and I feel let down when I can't make a riff or pattern (I'm going to shorten this to "plxqr". Because I can.) the way it is in my head. I sifted through the tons of plxqr and never found anything like what I was looking for. I half created something, half threw something down to play a concert with something other than covers. Mixing them together sort of works, but it's not good enough for me.

I noticed the plxqr didn't always transition smoothly from one to the other, which is a bit irritating to listen to...

Actually being able to play your songs in a career mode is a fantastic addition. The qweasd hexagon was to be different from other games, right? :P It's not a bad idea, it's been used successfully before, but there are reasons why so many music games over the last thirteen years or so have had vertical scrolling, one button per column: It's much easier to read, shows more of the chart, makes simultaneous notes easier to see, and is familiar to most people. Many people may be annoyed with the setup since it's hard to read by default.

Being able to play different instruments in a Flash music game at different difficulties is new to me, so points for that.

The quality of the game's music seemed to vary... a lot. I could play a song I absolutely hate immediately following a song I like. Song previews would be a good addition to the game. Would it be possible to load user songs into the game from an online database, or is manually loading code going to be the only way?

I like all the little things the people say. It makes the characters seem more like people than "LOL bein a drummre ish fun... hello i is a durmmer... my durms expansive..."

While writing this, my opinion of the game has changed a few times. I've gone from being annoyed with everything, to enjoying it, to boredom, and back through all over again. I'd probably give this game a different score for every ten minutes I spend playing it, so I'll just stick with 7. :P It might be fun to come back now and again, but I'm not the biggest fan, though a lot of people seem like they could be. Good for them.

Misc:

- The lack of descriptions on the achievements list is driving me nuts.
- Nice graphics. I like how the characters actually look like they're playing the music.
- I sometimes missed notes when I hit them perfectly. Meh, that seems to happen with most Flash music games.
- Oddly enough, the lag seemed worse after turning down the quality and animation. Looks like I won't get the 100 combo achievement any time soon...

[Ack, I can't think clearly anymore. Oh well.]


People find this review helpful!

bboy900bboy900

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2010

okay

i think it a good game.
and i enjoyed playing other songs from other people and stuf.
but i couldn't make my own song because it was just to much choice!
so many solos,rythems,etc.
thats real hard to do.
thats what i dont like abaute it.
but its still a good game.