Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 17, 2010 | 11:49 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 18, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place January 20, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Ok people this is it!! The biggest poke battle you'll ever see! forget the turns, forget the "Charizard use WATER GUN!!! Let's just throw the damn pokeballs and let all our Pokémon do the talking!

BTW: This is my second ever flash, I only started using CS3 flash in early 2009 so don't be expecting a masterpiece here :P

(Pokemon The Fated Encounter is complete!! so what are you waiting for? go and see it :)

(UPDATE*1) Black boarders inserted incase of over enlargement
(UPDATE*2) Minor graphical issue changes
(UPDATE*3) Sync issue resolved

Ok an explanation into why I made this: Since I've been navigating newgrounds I noticed the Pokémon section titled "kill all the Pokémon" or something like that and not many people liking Pokémon. But I noticed there is actually a large poke fan-base here so I wanted to see in my ability what I can contribute to them. Although I myself not a fan of Pokémon and never really was, I also don't hate it, why should I hate it? Just admit to yourselves that everyone use to like poke at one point of their life hence me making this, so sit back and enjoy the murkage.

(EDIT: Sorry about the dodgy artwork I'm really shite at drawing pokemon, so bare with me and try and watch thanks :)

(Anyways back to this! yes in the video the Pokémon do more than four moves each, but however I have done my research on their attacks on that bulbapedia wiki (very helpful poke wiki :) So no problems here with fake attacks (Steelix doing thunderbolt or something Oo)

Runtime- 3:45 mins (Battle scene duration)
Frame Rate- AS3 20fps = AS2 24fps
Symbol Count- 845!! O_o
Production Time of Flash- 20 days
P.S I never again shah publish in AS3! what a nightmare! Just to make a button? (Again sorry for filesize, I've got two unstreamed mp3s in this submission which adds on a gazillion more MBs :P

??????: Spot the mystery pokemon in the flash, hehe :)
and hope you enjoy or enjoyed the cataclysmic battle! as the marines would say "ooOORAH!!!" XD

Reviews


TheReviewGuyTheReviewGuy

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 18, 2010

Real time representation at long last!

I read an earlier reply you made to a comment - I still play the games and I'm older than you are! People who dislike or even diss the franchise don't understand or refuse to accept that it in essence is quite an awesome idea.

This is by far one of the best real time representations of a proper battle. Yes it borrows heavily from DBZ elements, but if that's what it takes to make a proper battle sequence, then so be it. The pace was kept up from start to finish and backed with good sound and music, this was quite the adrenaline rush. None of that slow anime rubbish fighting.

I would've scored this alot higher but I won't because of one thing - and it's a big thing in my opinion.

Go easy - alot easier - on the constant camera shaking effect. Almost every scene is like an explosion. Nothing stays still. Even when some of them are merely moving in a straight direction the camera angle does that wobbly thing. It's not that you should forsake it altogether, but get it under wraps. Couple it with the quick screen changing and flashing - which I think is the better effect to play with - you get major eyeball messing and it's just hard to concentrate on what's going on. Every action and every screen is just shaking like mad. I know you want to incorporate a real sense of impact within the fights but there are limits to explore. This one kind of went a little bit overboard.

I do like the flash - I think it's about time someone beefed up a proper pokemon battle sequence. But it's not just about flashy depictions of moves and such. It's also about presentation. It's like a great big platter of gourmet food, but sloshed together haphazardly. It may have all the right ingredients, but it doesn't present itself properly.

All it needs is some arranging and some more attention to detail.


People find this review helpful!
Tyrant-D responds:

wow! a good constructive review :) this is what I like :) I'm glad that you like the flash. Your right about me going a bit overboard with the effects. I remember testing it, testing it then playing it and thinking to myself "theres a bit too much going on" and at one point when scizor was doing double team, there was some flashing effects. which could potentially be the cause of a innocent epileptic seizure Oo... which I wouldn't want to be responsible for.

Anyways thank you for the constructive criticism, I will glady take you suggestions aboard sir! :)


soraxel13soraxel13

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 18, 2010

dragon mon z pokemon edition

like sabreguy said yimprove your art and itll be even asomer. if you improve you cold actually have some talent and make your own tv show or mini webisode seires. ether way asome also if you need some help with logos and stuff like that hit me up


Tyrant-D responds:

ok i willb taked yourd advdice, tahnk u four ther reviewb :P


scottwjsmscottwjsm

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 17, 2010

mhhh

animation +2
drawing +1
trigonometry + .5
background +1
angles +2
6.5


Tyrant-D responds:

conclusion - take some pills


jjm239jjm239

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 22, 2013

Did Dragonite and Scizor have to turn into Sonic?



ifemifem

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 20, 2010

annoyed

no one wins


Tyrant-D responds:

wtf are you annoyed? you sound like a angry human.

tut* tut*